National Press Club Elects New Officers and Board Members

Dec 16, 2013, 07:50 ET from National Press Club

WASHINGTON, Dec. 16, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Members of the National Press Club, the world's leading professional organization for journalists, have elected Myron Belkind as their 107th president.


The first NPC president with a four-decade career internationally, he was a foreign correspondent and bureau chief with The Associated Press, heading bureaus in Kuala Lumpur, New Delhi, London and Tokyo. 

Since 2005, he has been a journalism educator at The George Washington University. Belkind will assume the presidency at the NPC's annual general meeting on Jan. 17, and will be formally sworn in on Jan. 25 at the Club's traditional inaugural gala.

"It is truly an honor to be elected to serve as the president of this distinguished institution," Belkind said. "I look forward to continuing to make the National Press Club a globally renowned center for journalism excellence."

Belkind has served as chair of the National Press Club's International Correspondents' Committee since 2005, and served as the Club's secretary, treasurer and vice president. Earlier, Belkind was president and chief executive officer of the Foreign Correspondents Club of Japan, president of the Foreign Correspondents of South Asia in New Delhi and president of the Association of America Correspondents in London.

The Cleveland, Ohio, native received his B.A. in journalism from The Ohio State University, where he was editor of the campus daily, The Lantern, and his M.S. with high honors from Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism, where he won a Pulitzer Traveling Fellowship.

Other elections determined on Dec. 13 were John Hughes, Bloomberg News, vice president; Thomas Burr, Salt Lake City Tribune, treasurer; Andrea Snyder, Bloomberg News, secretary and Marc Wojno, Kiplinger Washington Editors, Inc., membership secretary.

Elected to the Board of Governors Journalists category were Jeffrey Ballou, Al Jazeera English, and Alison Fitzgerald, The Center for Public Integrity (three-year terms) and Molly McCluskey, freelance (one-year unexpired term). Anthony Shop of Social Driver was elected to a three-year term to the Board of Governors Communicator category.

About the National Press Club

The National Press Club, a private club for journalists and communications professionals, has been a Washington institution for more than a century. It is also a world-class conference and meeting facility that hosts thousands of events each year for sophisticated clients from around the globe. Its mission is to be The World's Leading Professional Organization for Journalists. It is a social and business organization dedicated to supporting the ongoing improvement of the profession of journalism.

For More Information
Melinda Cooke 202.662.7516

SOURCE National Press Club