National Safety Council Elects New Members to Board of Directors

Oct 01, 2010, 14:37 ET from National Safety Council

SAN DIEGO, Oct. 1 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Safety Council announced the election of four new members to its Board of Directors at the group's annual meeting in San Diego. The four individuals accepting two-year terms are:

  • James Andrew, senior partner and director of The Boston Consulting Group
  • Linda Burtwistle, president of First Student
  • Brendan Deely, president and CEO of L&W Supply Corp. and vice president of USG Corp.
  • Abdul Rahman Jawahery, general manager of Gulf Petrochemical Industries Co.

James Andrew is the global leader of BCG's Innovation Practice and works closely with the executive teams of some of the world's most innovative companies, leading research in this area. He has an MBA from Harvard University Graduate School of Business, with distinction, and a BS from the University of Illinois, with highest honors. Andrew also serves on the national board of the Alliance for Lupus Research.

Linda Burtwistle joined FirstGroup America in 2008, bringing with her 12 years of international experience in the transportation industry. She has served as the CFO for both Virgin Rail Group in the United Kingdom and Coach USA in Houston. Burtwistle also serves as a board member of the National School Transportation Association and the European-American Chamber of Commerce in Cincinnati.

Brendan Deely graduated with a BS from the University of Scranton in 1988 and an MBA from Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Management in 2000. Prior to joining USG, he served as a captain in the U.S. Army and served in the reserves until 1997. Deely also is on the board of directors of the Lincoln Park Community Shelter.

Abdul Rahman Jawahery is a chartered chemical engineer with BSc and MSc degrees in chemical engineering from the United Kingdom. Among his other associations, Jawahery is a second-term member of the Parliament in the Kingdom of Bahrain, a board member of the National Oil & Gas Authority and founding member of the Bahrain Society for Transfer of Technology.

Concluding their terms on the NSC Board of Directors are Salvatore Caccavale, Greg Hale, Scott Jamieson, Gus Moffitt, Ather Williams Jr. and Jane Williams. Caccavale, Hale and Jane Williams will continue on the NSC Board of Delegates, and Ather Williams Jr. will continue as part of the Board of Trustees.

The National Safety Council ( saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

SOURCE National Safety Council