National Safety Council Honors Safe Driving Habits

Oct 06, 2010, 11:43 ET from National Safety Council

Safe Drivers of the Year Recognized

SAN DIEGO, Calif., Oct. 6 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- At its National Awards Celebration last night, the National Safety Council announced the Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year award honorees for both the public and private sector. This year's winners have driven a combined 93 years and 6 million miles without being involved in a preventable crash. Winners were chosen among professional drivers nominated for their total driving record, including miles and years driven without a preventable crash.

The 2010 Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year award winners are:

Lewis Eaton, Ross Transportation Services – Grafton, OH

47 years and 4.5 million miles

Public Sector

Donald Smith, U.S. Postal Service – Punta Gorda, FL

46 years and 1.5 million miles

Private Sector

Established in 2004, the Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Driver of the Year award pays tribute to Joseph M. Kaplan, who took significant actions to keep others safe as president of the Southern California Chapter of NSC for more than 60 years. Kaplan passed away earlier this year.

"We were saddened with the loss of Joseph Kaplan, but his legacy remains strong as we continue to honor those who have reached milestone achievements in driving safely," said Janet Froetscher, president and CEO of the National Safety Council. "This year's winners have shown an outstanding commitment to safety on the roads that we hope all drivers will follow."

The National Safety Council ( saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

SOURCE National Safety Council