Nautilus Named a Finalist for Magazine Awards

Startup magazine goes head-to-head with industry goliaths

Nov 25, 2013, 12:19 ET from Nautilus

NEW YORK, Nov. 25, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Nautilus, the world's only literary science magazine, is pitted against some of the world's legendary media properties as a finalist for the 2013 Eddie & Ozzie Magazine Awards. Despite being only six months old, Nautilus has been nominated for Best Website, Best Site Design and Best Issue, competing against the likes of Sports Illustrated, Scientific American, and the MIT Technology Review.

(Logo: )

Brilliantly illustrated and elegantly written, Nautilus finds surprise in the familiar, and understanding in the mysterious. It launched its online edition ( in May to immediate acclaim. Dennis Overbye of the New York Times characterized Nautilus as the heir to "a wave of glossy monthly science magazines … fueled by the belief that curiosity about the universe was not only part of the good life but a necessity ..." Real Clear Science added Nautilus to its list of Top Science News Sites. The Globe and Mail, Canada's largest-circulation national newspaper, wrote that Nautilus has an "approach and a design aesthetic that is more literary salon than lab bench. Instead of … media fast food, Nautilus aims at something like a multicourse meal for the mind by exploring a single theme every month."  

Nautilus also reaches beyond digital form, making the jump to print four times a year in the Nautilus Quarterly: tactile, informative, and eye-catching, it combines some of the website's best stories and art with original content to make a true collectible. Hitting mailboxes and bookstores in early December, with subscriptions available at, the Winter 2014 Quarterly explores The Unlikely, Fame and Secret Codes. As Nicholas Carr wrote in his Nautilus essay "Paper vs Pixel", "we were probably mistaken to think of words on screens as substitutes for words on paper. They seem to be different things …" Nautilus is proud to offer both.

The Eddie & Ozzie Award winners are announced on December 5th in New York.

SOURCE Nautilus