New Members Elected to the National Safety Council Board of Directors

Oct 21, 2012, 16:47 ET from National Safety Council

ORLANDO, Fla., Oct. 21, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Safety Council announced the election of three new members to its Board of Directors at the group's annual meeting, held today in Orlando in conjunction with the NSC Congress & Expo – the largest annual gathering of safety and health professionals. The three individuals accepting two-year terms are:

  • Moises Huntt, Vice President of Global Health & Safety, UPS
  • Andrew Johnson, Executive Vice President, Captive Resources LLC
  • James Tomaseski, Director of Safety and Health, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

(Logo: )

"As the Council celebrates a century of safety, it is a pleasure for the NSC Board to welcome these leaders to our team," said Kent McElhattan, chairman of the NSC Board of Directors and chairman of Industrial Scientific Corporation. "The skills and knowledge they have to share will surely assist the Council in saving more lives and preventing more injuries in the years to come."

Moises Huntt oversees all aspects of the health and safety process at UPS, a global company comprised of nearly 400,000 employees. His responsibilities include strategic direction in the areas of employee health and safety, OSHA compliance, occupational health, wellness, safety training and education. Huntt holds a Bachelor's degree in Business Management and has served on multiple agency boards throughout his career. He has been directly involved in local and national Urban League programs as well as the Black Executive Exchange Program.

Andrew Johnson has been with Captive Resources LLC since 1992 and is responsible for the management of safety/risk control efforts for more than 1,200 companies across the country and the oversight of 200+ safety and health consultants. Johnson holds a Bachelor of Science with a concentration in Industrial Technology and Occupational Safety and Health from Northern Illinois University. Johnson has been on the NSC Board of Delegates since 2007 and a member of his local Board of Education since 1997, serving as Board President from 2001 to 2010.

James Tomaseski has held the position of Director of Safety and Health for the IBEW International Office since November 2001. He has been a member of the NSC Labor Division since 2002 and served on the Board of Delegates in 2002 as well. Tomaseski has developed and teaches an incident investigation course that focuses on the development process of incident prevention. His responsibilities include reviewing incident data from a broad range of occupational fields including electrical, gas, construction, manufacturing, telecommunications and railroad.

About the National Safety Council
Founded in 1913 and chartered by Congress, the National Safety Council ( is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to save lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy. NSC advances this mission by partnering with businesses, government agencies, elected officials and the public in areas where we can make the most impact -- distracted driving, teen driving, workplace safety and safety beyond the workplace.

Connect with NSC:

SOURCE National Safety Council