NHCSL Announces the 2012 John S. Martinez Scholarship Recipients

Mar 21, 2013, 13:52 ET from National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators

WASHINGTON, March 21, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators (NHCSL) is proud to announce the 2012 John S. Martinez scholarship recipients. Each recipient will receive a $3,000 thousand dollar scholarship upon graduating high school and admittance into a college/university. These students will also receive the opportunity to meet with their local Hispanic legislator and be recognized within their communities for educational excellence.  "Everyone should be entitled to receive a higher education. It is extremely important to equip our Hispanic youth with the necessary skills and preparedness to be successful in the future. It is rewarding to know that we are assisting such deserving students in achieving their educational goals," said Representative Minnie Gonzalez (CT), NHCSL President.

"This academic year proved to be a challenging one in selecting recipients due to the abundance of qualified applicants.  NHCSL received a vast number of applications from various states and territories across the nation. It was heartwarming to see so many Hispanic children not only excelling academically, but also giving back to their community, participating in school events, receiving academic awards, striving for success, and being leaders within their school community. NHCSL's collaboration with Comcast has made and continues to make the John S. Martinez scholarship possible. "We are extremely proud of the partnership with NHCSL. Investing in these amazing young people is an investment in the future of the country.  We applaud NHCSL's efforts to expand the scholarship and their continued dedication in developing the next generation of Latino leaders," stated Juan Otero, Senior Director at Comcast Corporation.

The 2012 J.S.M. Scholarship recipients include: Gerardo Calderon (Arizona), Stephanie Rivera (California), Gabriela Garcia-Sanchez (Connecticut), Nicole Mallma (Connecticut), Lucia Baca (Florida), Marisa Chacon (New Mexico), Victor F. Vasquez, Jr. (New York), Javier Gonzalez Pinero (Puerto Rico), Jenifer Henriquez (Rhode Island), Nelson Pereira (Texas), and Jessie Emmanuel Duarte (Utah).

NHCSL and all of its members are extremely proud of all of these students and the potential that they have already exhibited. With maintaining a focus on closing the achievement gap, Hispanic students can continue to develop into successful leaders of the future.

The NHCSL is the premier national association of Hispanic state legislators working to design and implement policies and procedures that will improve the quality of life for Hispanics throughout the country.  NHCSL was founded in 1989 as a nonpartisan, nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization with the mission to be the most effective voice for the more than 340 Hispanic legislators.  For more information visit www.nhcsl.org.

SOURCE National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators