Pelosi to Join Bipartisan, Bicameral Delegation to Haiti

Feb 12, 2010, 08:32 ET from Office of the Speaker of the House

WASHINGTON, Feb. 12 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Speaker Nancy Pelosi will join a bipartisan, bicameral Congressional delegation to Haiti.

"I am pleased to be a part of this bipartisan, bicameral delegation to Haiti today," said Speaker Nancy Pelosi. "In the spirit of President Obama, we go to demonstrate the ongoing American commitment to the Haitian people – that they will not be forsaken or forgotten. First and foremost, our delegation goes to pay our respects to the Haitian people who are suffering from the tragedy. It is also crucial that the House and Senate – on a bipartisan basis – have the opportunity to examine the ongoing reconstruction efforts ahead of the U.S. Congress considering long-term assistance for Haiti."

Today has been designated as a national day of mourning for the Haitian people – marking the 30th day following this disaster. The delegation will assess the U.S. government's response to the Haitian earthquakes that struck the nation last month and survey the devastation left in the wake of the catastrophe.

The delegation is scheduled to meet with Haitian government officials, including President Rene Preval and Prime Minister Jean-Max Bellerive. The itinerary also includes visits to aid distribution sites and medical facilities, and meetings with officials from the U.S. military, USAID, the United Nations, and humanitarian organizations that are working to help the people of Haiti recover from the earthquake.

The following Members and Senators compose the bipartisan, bicameral delegation:

Speaker Nancy Pelosi

Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA), Chairman, Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor

and Pensions

Senator Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)

Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Senator George LeMieux (R-FL)

Congressman John Conyers (D-MI), Chairman, House Judiciary Committee

Congressman Charles Rangel (D-NY), Chairman, House Ways and Means Committee Congressman James Oberstar (D-MN), Chairman, House Transportation and

Infrastructure Committee

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)

Congressman Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)

Congresswoman Donna Christensen (D-V.I.)

SOURCE Office of the Speaker of the House