Pennsylvania Governor Corbett Congratulates New Troopers at State Police Graduation

Oct 28, 2011, 11:14 ET from Pennsylvania State Police Department

HARRISBURG, Pa., Oct. 28, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Governor Tom Corbett today congratulated the 91 men and women joining the ranks of the Pennsylvania State Police following their graduation from the State Police Academy in Hershey.

"You are part of a proud tradition, made prouder still just a month ago by the heroism of the men and women whose ranks you join today,'' Corbett said, referring to recent severe storms and floods in central and eastern Pennsylvania.

"As the flood bore down on homes, state troopers were pulling people from rooftops. Two of them literally risked their lives to bring a family to safety moments before their home collapsed and washed away.

"This force has a record for honesty, for straight dealing, for bringing honor to our state,'' Corbett said. "I salute your willingness to take on this calling and I can tell you this office will always be here to take the cause of our bravest.''

Corbett spoke at the ceremony, held this morning at Central Dauphin High School, along with State Police Commissioner Col. Frank Noonan and retired Commissioner Col. Frank Pawlowski.

Among the graduating cadets was Pawlowski's son, Francis J. Pawloski. As the new troopers received their badges, the retired commissioner, whose father was also a Pennsylvania State Police trooper, made the presentation to his son.

Cadet Antwjuan M. Cox, of Uniontown, Fayette County, spoke on behalf of the cadet class. Cadet Jeremy S. Allen, of Bradford, McKean County, was named the outstanding cadet by his classmates and instructors, receiving the American Legion Award. Also receiving awards were:

  • Cadet Nicholas Scrivani, of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County– Daniel F. Dunn High Scholastic Award;
  • Cadet Ryan R. Goodling, of Middletown, Dauphin County – Charles B. Gesford High Pistol Award;
  • Cadet William D. Davis III of Muncy, Lycoming County – Col. Paul J. Chylak Memorial Driver Proficiency Award; and
  • Cadet Ryan C. Seiple, of Nazareth, Northampton CountyJohn K. Schafer Memorial Physical Fitness Award.

Maj. John W. Laufer III, director of the State Police Bureau of Training and Education, supervised the training of the class, which was the 132nd class to graduate from the State Police Academy in Hershey since it opened in 1960.

The graduates, who have completed 25 weeks of intensive physical and classroom training, have been assigned to stations within 11 troop areas across the state.

For more information about State Police, visit

Media Contacts:
Maria A. Finn or Sgt. Anthony Manetta, PSP; 717-783-5556
Janet Kelley, Governor's Office; 717-783-1116

Editor's Note:  A list of graduates and their hometowns, arranged by the location of their troop assignment, follows:

Troop B, Washington, Washington County

Mark D. Mason of White Oak, Allegheny County

Troop E, Erie, Erie County

Jeremy S. Allen of Bradford, McKean County
Joshua A. Anterock of New Castle, Lawrence County
Scott A. Bell of Indiana, Indiana County
Terry H. Clark Jr. of Watson, Jefferson County
Michael C. Gray of West Decatur, Clearfield County
Brian M. Kreske of Monroeville, Allegheny County
Gregory A. Lenz of Saltsburg, Westmoreland County
Justin T. Martin of Volant, Lawrence County
Garrett R. Padasak of Indiana, Indiana County
Brian M. Resetar of Bell Vernon, Fayette County
Anthony L. Sayles Jr. of Charleroi, Washington County
David A. Vinkler Jr. of Greensburg, Westmoreland County
Kayla M. Walters of Leechburg, Armstrong County

Troop F, Montoursville, Lycoming County

Shane M. Buffone of Brockway, Jefferson County
William D. Davis III of Muncy, Lycoming County
Joseph A. Gerg of Kersey, Elk County
Thomas B. Grove of Aspers, Adams County
Jared R. King of Bulger, Washington County
Daniel J. Kozak of Osceola Mills, Clearfield County
Scott R. Mang of Erie, Erie County
Joel R. Miles of Glen Hope, Clearfield County
Timothy W. Mix of Mount Jewett, McKean County
William J. Ritrosky of Worthington, Armstrong County
Mark A. Van Volkenburg of Wattsburg, Erie County
Derek C. Weaver of Lucinda, Clarion County

Troop G, Hollidaysburg, Blair County

Michael W. Doriguzzi of Vanderbilt, Fayette County
John D. Piasecki of New Kingston, Allegheny County

Troop H, Harrisburg, Dauphin County

Antwjuan M. Cox of Uniontown, Fayette Country
Matthew I. Geissinger of Belleville, Mifflin County
Jared M. Hartsock of Lewistown, Mifflin County
Jonathan P. Mackensen of York, York County
Kyle W. Milliron of Belleville, Mifflin County
Matthew E. Wenner of Clarion, Clarion County

Troop J, Lancaster, Lancaster County

Amos L. Glick of Lancaster, Lancaster County
Ryan L. Lawrence of Conestoga, Lancaster County
Branden T. Munshower of North Huntington, Westmoreland County
Jacob B. Saenz of Maytown, Lancaster County
Clinton L. Wagner of Hummelstown, Dauphin County

Troop K, Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Robert J. Beyer of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Lateef E. Ferguson of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Benjamin Franklin III of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Nertil Gorre of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Elijah K. Jones of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Stephen M. Kamnik of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
James M. Kelble of Dresher, Montgomery County
William J. Martino of Folsom, Delaware County
Francis J. Pawlowski of Exton, Chester County
Lacy L. Roane of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Evan T. Ross of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Nicholas Scrivani of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County

Troop L, Reading, Berks County

Thomas J. Finn of Frackville, Schuylkill County
Ryan R. Goodling of Middletown, Dauphin County
Caleb J. Huber of Hershey, Dauphin County
John M. Huffstutler of Lake Ariel, Wayne County
Brian L. Jasinski of Reading, Berks County
Joshua A. Lacey of Birdsboro, Berks County
Andrew D. Letcavage of Kulpmont, Northumberland County
Peter F. Mohn of Hershey, Dauphin County
Ryan M. Monoski of Mill Hall, Clinton County
James C. Nestico of Paxinos, Northumberland County
Michael A. Schatzmann, Jr. of Paradise, Lancaster County
Daniel B. Womer of Camp Hill, Cumberland County

Troop M, Bethlehem, Northampton County

Badhasa T. Boyer of Willow Street, Lancaster County
Rashaun Copeland of Philadelphia, Philadelphia County
Zena C. Coulombe of Auburn, Schuylkill County
Angel M. Cruz of Reading, Berks County
Timothy C. Cutshaw of Auburn, Schuylkill County
Patrick J. Dawe of Breinigsville, Lehigh County
Evan N. Dearmas of Easton, Northampton County
Rachel K. Jones of Bensalem, Bucks County
Shawn P. McCormick of Clifton Heights, Delaware County
Ronald Mercatili Jr. of Peckville, Lackawanna County
William A. Rowan, Jr. of Reading, Berks County
Ryan C. Seiple of Nazareth, Northampton County

Troop N, Hazleton, Luzerne County

Ronald W. Barrett of Williamsport, Lycoming County
Nicholas T. Bressler of Avoca, Luzerne County
Francis A. Carito III of Greenfield Township, Lackawanna Country
Bridget R. Celestina of Milford, Pike County
Michael J. Collins of Honesdale, Wayne County
Peter W. Grella of Shickshinny, Luzerne County
Anthony K. Kingsley of Crescent, Allegheny County
Francis J. McDonough of Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Christopher P. Mitchell Jr. of Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Rebecca L. Parker of Middleburg, Snyder County
Mark A. Puopolo of East Stroudsburg, Monroe County
Jason M. Raynes of Danville, Montour County
Justin P. Roland of Altoona, Blair County
Brian S. Shandra of Pittston, Luzerne County
Matthew Wysocky of Freeland, Luzerne County

Troop R, Dunmore, Lackawanna County

Jordan P. Sandlin of Milford, Pike County

SOURCE Pennsylvania State Police Department