Pennsylvania Secretary Wiessmann Appointed to National Regulatory Committee

Feb 25, 2016, 15:26 ET from Pennsylvania Department of Banking

HARRISBURG, Pa., Feb. 25, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Pennsylvania Secretary of Banking and Securities Robin L. Wiessmann has been appointed to the Non-Depository Supervisory Committee of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS). This new committee will provide oversight of and support for multi-state, non-depository supervisory matters, and advise on the development of CSBS national policy.

"I congratulate the Conference of State Bank Supervisors for recognizing the skills and knowledge Secretary Wiessmann will bring to this national committee," said Governor Tom Wolf. "I am also looking forward to Pennsylvania having effective representation in the development of national regulatory policies affecting the financial services businesses upon which our commonwealth's citizens rely."

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors is the nationwide organization of financial regulators from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. In addition to regulating banking institutions, CSBS members oversee "non-depository" companies, such as mortgage providers, check cashers, and consumer finance companies. Nationally, state regulators license more than 16,000 mortgage companies, more than 130,000 individual mortgage loan originators, and more than 138,000 additional non-depository financial services providers across the nation.

The Department of Banking and Securities is accredited by the Conference of State Bank Supervisors, the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators, and the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors, and is a member of the North American Securities Administrators Association, the National Association of Consumer Credit Administrators, and the Money Transmitter Regulators Association.

Media contact: Ed Novak, 717-783-4721

SOURCE Pennsylvania Department of Banking