Pennsylvania State Police Announces 48 New Troopers

Mar 18, 2016, 15:21 ET from Pennsylvania State Police Department

HARRISBURG, Pa., March 18, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Commissioner Tyree C. Blocker announced that 48 men and women graduated from the State Police Academy today and were assigned to troops across the commonwealth.

Blocker spoke at the ceremony, which was held at Bishop McDevitt High School. Cadet Ryan M. Michelitsch from McKean County spoke on behalf of the cadet class.

Cadet Daniel K. Magarelli was named the outstanding cadet by his classmates and instructors, receiving the American Legion Award. Also receiving awards were: Cadet Rhiannon E. Trate, the Daniel F. Dunn High Scholastic Award; Cadet Richard J. Seslar, the Charles B. Gesford High Pistol Award and the Col. Paul J. Chylak Memorial Driver Proficiency Award; and Cadet Brian F. Watkins, the John K. Schafer Memorial Physical Fitness Award.

Major William P. White, director of the state police Bureau of Training and Education, supervised the training of the class, which was the 144th class to graduate from the State Police Academy in Hershey since its opening in 1960.

The graduates have been assigned to stations within seven troop areas across the state, including:

Troop A, Greensburg
Glenn J. Adams of Allegheny County
Sonny R. Halterman of Westmoreland County
Vincent M. Rehm of Blair County
Kevin D. Wheelden of Bedford County
Adam J. Zinn of Cambria County

Troop B, Washington
Charles L. Hassenfeldt of Allegheny County
Robert C. Hughes Ill of Allegheny County
Donald K. Morris of Fayette County
Tyler J. Parkes of Allegheny County
Robert J. Politowski of Allegheny County
Nicholas A. Saylor of Somerset County
Richard Seslar of Westmoreland County

Troop E, Erie
Nicholas S. Miller of Crawford County                      
Corey M. Murphy of Erie County

Troop F, Montoursville
Justin D. Fitzwater of Bradford County
Luke T. Geiger of Bradford County
Eric J. Neiswonger of Erie County
Zachery Weaver of Clarion County

Troop H, Harrisburg
David E. Angstadt of Lehigh County
Sean J. Flannery of Chester County
Ryan C. Fraunfelter of Northampton County
Nathan M. Grossman of Dauphin County
Amy R. Gudknecht of York County
Micah J. Howell of Montgomery County
Andrew J. Hurchick of Lackawanna County
Deaven R. Kelly of Dauphin County
Alexander H. Kydd of Philadelphia County
Bhojnauth Lochan of Dauphin County
Andrew W. Lynn of Carbon County
Daniel K. Magarelli of Carbon County
Ryan M. Michelitsch of McKean County
Jason A. Padilla of Lackawanna County
Joshua S. Pawlowski of Allegheny County
Dominic A. Picerno Ill of Snyder County
Kyle M. Plitnick of Luzerne County
Kyle J. Reeser of Berks County
Jordan W. Rich of Lebanon County
Brian S. Smyers of Snyder County
Rhiannon E. Trate of Berks County
Kyle A. Wagner of Lycoming County
David I. Walker of York County
Curwin A. Walrond, Jr. of Philadelphia County
Brian F. Watkins of Northumberland County

Troop L, Reading
Jonathan T. Chipego of Luzerne County
Derek J. Hammerl of Berks County
Brian W. Roland of Chester County
Anthony J. Tambasco of Luzerne County

Troop M, Bethlehem
Peter G. Rabatt of Chester County

For more information on the Pennsylvania State Police, visit their website at

MEDIA CONTACTS:  Maria A. Finn or Tpr. Adam Reed, 717-783-5556


SOURCE Pennsylvania State Police Department