Political Action Arm of National Taxpayer Group Endorses 'Taxpayers' Friends' for Congress

Oct 28, 2010, 14:14 ET from National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Oct. 28 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- In a Congressional election year focused on political challengers to Washington's tax-and-spend status quo, it's important to recognize those incumbents who've also been working hard for fiscal reform. That's why the National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund (NTUCF) today announced it has endorsed 26 current Congressional officeholders for reelection. NTUCF is the political action arm of the National Taxpayers Union.

"Putting Congress back on the path to fiscal responsibility will take a combined effort from seasoned veterans as well as tax-fighters who are new to the ranks," NTUCF President Duane Parde said. "These 26 hard-chargers have proven their fiscal mettle in the past and will do so again, as the 112th Congress tackles runaway deficits and a broken tax code."

The 26 incumbents were selected because of their standout performances in the 111th Congress, their previous NTUCF endorsements, their longstanding pro-taxpayer voting records, or a combination of these factors. One tool that assisted NTUCF's decisions was the National Taxpayers Union's annual Rating of Congress, which is based on every roll call vote affecting federal taxes, spending, debt, and regulations. All 26 were top-tier finishers on the scorecard.

Three Senators are receiving NTUCF's endorsement: Tom Coburn (OK), Jim DeMint (SC), and John McCain (AZ). Twenty-three House Members also got the nod from NTUCF: Todd Akin (MO-2), Marsha Blackburn (TN-7), Paul Broun (GA-10), Jason Chaffetz (UT-3), Jeff Flake (AZ-6), Virginia Foxx (NC-5), Trent Franks (AZ-2), Scott Garrett (NJ-5), Jeb Hensarling (TX-5), Sam Johnson (TX-3), Jim Jordan (OH-4), Steve King (IA-5), Doug Lamborn (CO-5), Cynthia Lummis (WY), Tom McClintock (CA-4), Patrick McHenry (NC-10), Jeff Miller (FL-1), Ron Paul (TX-14), Mike Pence (IN-6), Tom Price (GA-6), Ed Royce (CA-40), Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-5), and Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3).

"Hundreds of others are running this fall, but these Members of Congress are truly the cream of the crop," Parde concluded. "We urge voters to support these Taxpayers' Friends and send a strong message to Congress that limited government is the way to prosperity."

NTUCF is the political action arm of the National Taxpayers Union (NTU), the nation's largest grassroots taxpayer organization. NTU, founded in 1969, created the NTU Campaign Fund in 1994. Endorsement decisions at NTUCF require a unanimous vote on a nonpartisan basis by a four-member committee. Several weeks ago NTUCF issued an endorsement slate of top-level challengers known as the "Taxpayers' Twenty."

SOURCE National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund