Political Action Arm of Nation's Oldest Taxpayer Group Endorses Slate of Congressional Candidates for Fiscal Responsibility

Nov 02, 2012, 17:44 ET from National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Nov. 2, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Call them "Fifty-nine for Fiscal Responsibility" – a hard-charging group of 59 challenger and incumbent candidates for Congress who've earned coveted endorsements from National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund (NTUCF). Today NTUCF offered these taxpayer advocates congratulations and best wishes for victory going into the home stretch weekend of the election.

"To put America back on the path to fiscal responsibility, Congress will need tenacious veterans, recently-tested tax-fighters, and many energetic newcomers," said NTUCF President Duane Parde. "Each one of the incumbents and challengers we've endorsed can make a vital, powerful contribution to the cause of overburdened taxpayers."

NTUCF has endorsed the following candidates for the U.S. House of Representatives; some are challengers hoping to serve in Congress for the first time or to return to the House after retiring, while others are current House Members running for new districts: Justin Amash (MI-03), John Archer (IA-02), Andy Barr (KY-06), Kerry Bentivolio (MI-11), Paul Broun (GA-10), John Campbell (CA-45), Steve Chabot (OH-01), Jason Chaffetz (UT-03), Mike Coffman (CO-06), Tom Cotton (AR-04), Kevin Cramer (ND-AL), Ron DeSantis (FL-06), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), John Duncan (TN-02), Trent Franks (AZ-08), Scott Garrett (NJ-05), Ricky Gill (CA-09), Trey Gowdy (SC-04), Tom Graves (GA-14), Adam Hasner (FL-22), Tim Huelskamp (KS-01), Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Jim Jordan (OH-04), Steve King (IA-04), Raul Labrador (ID-01), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Jeff Landry (LA-03), Ben Lange (IA-01), Mia Love (UT-04), Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL), Thomas Massie (KY-04), Tom McClintock (CA-04), Mark Meadows (NC-11), Mick Mulvaney (SC-05), Reid Ribble (WI-08), Dana Rohrabacher (CA-48), Todd Rokita (IN-04), Keith Rothfus (PA-12), Ed Royce (CA-39), Matt Salmon (AZ-05), David Schweikert (AZ-06), Tim Scott (SC-01), Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-05), Steve Southerland (FL-02), Marlin Stutzman (IN-03), Jackie Walorski (IN-02), Joe Walsh (IL-08), and Allen West (FL-18).           

NTUCF has endorsed the following candidates for the U.S. Senate; some may be current House Members: George Allen (VA), Scott Brown (MA), Ted Cruz (TX), Jeff Flake (AZ), Dean Heller (NV), Connie Mack (FL), Josh Mandel (OH), Linda McMahon (CT), Richard Mourdock (IN), Tom Smith (PA), and Tommy Thompson (WI).

"By sending these capable candidates to Washington, voters will likewise be sending a strong message for limited government that will echo clearly and effectively throughout the halls of the 113th Congress," Parde concluded.

Note: NTUCF is the political action arm of the National Taxpayers Union (NTU), the nation's oldest grassroots taxpayer organization. NTU, founded in 1969, created the NTU Campaign Fund in 1994. Endorsement decisions by NTUCF require a unanimous vote on a nonpartisan basis by a four-member committee.

SOURCE National Taxpayers Union Campaign Fund