Punters and Bookmaker Back Moyes for Old Trafford Job

May 08, 2013, 11:47 ET from Betfred

MANCHESTER, England, May 8, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --

Punters have backed David Moyes all day to be the next Man United manager and the Everton boss is now 1/7 to take the Old Trafford hot seat.

When it was announced at 9.15 on Wednesday that Sir Alex Ferguson was to retire the early money was for the Real Madrid boss Jose Mourinho.

But from 10am all the money was for David Moyes and he's been heavily supported to take over at Old Trafford.

The choice of David Moyes has also been backed by bookmaker and Manchester United fan Fred Done.

Fred said,

"I'm gutted to see that Sir Alex Ferguson has decided to retire, as a United fan he's brought me so much pleasure and success over the last 26 years. All the punters are backing David Moyes and he will do for me. I think Moyes will do a great job, he's cut from the same cloth as Fergie."

News of Sir Alex Ferguson's retirement has resulted in Manchester United drifting for the title next season and they are now 13/8 from 11/8.

Sir Alex Ferguson's last game in charge will be at West Brom on the 19th May and http://www.betfred.com  are betting on who will score the final Manchester United goal of Fergie's reign. Van Persie is the 7/4 favourite while Sir Alex's longest serving player Ryan Giggs is 3/1 to score the milestone.

Fred Done backing David Moyes can be viewed at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_eJ0WynqkE

Next Permanent Man United Manager

David Moyes 1/7

Jose Mourinho 6/1

Jurgen Klopp 25/1

Ole Solskjaer 33/1

Michael Laudrup 40/1

Carlos Queiroz 50/1

Fabio Capello 50/1

Laurent Blanc 50/1

Roy Keane 50/1

Steve Bruce 50/1

Ryan Giggs 50/1

Pep Guardiola 50/1

Gary Neville 50/1

Who will score the last Man United goal of the Sir Alex Ferguson Reign against West Brom ?

    Van Persie   7/4
    Hernández    3/1
    Rooney       3/1
    Giggs        3/1
    Welbeck      4/1
    Scholes      4/1
    Kagawa       5/1
    No Scorer    6/1
    Nani         7/1
    Powell       9/1
    Cleverley   10/1
    Valencia    12/1
    Anderson    14/1
    Büttner     16/1
    Jones       16/1
    Carrick     20/1
    Evans       25/1
    Vidic       25/1
    Evra        25/1
    Smalling    28/1
    Ferdinand   33/1

SOURCE Betfred