Report: Round 10 of the Kartdrome SWS Sprint Series Night Races

Nov 28, 2013, 07:26 ET from Dubai Autodrome

DUBAI, UAE, November 28, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --

Barwani and Zian win in the RX7 senior class

Garbutt and Al Sarraj top LR4 juniors on the night

Atef Al Barwani and Sam Zian were the big winners at the tenth round of the 2013 SWS Sprint Series at the Kartdrome, as the pair walked home with the big silverware at the end of a night of very close racing.

     (Logo: )

In qualifying it was Karan Rallan who shocked the 'usual suspects' by snatching pole position in the SWS RX7 Class, in a session in which the top ten were separated by less than a second, setting the tone for the evening's races.

In Race 1 Atef Al Barwani powered to a convincing victory by a healthy margin of 6.307 seconds, after starting fifth on the grid, taking the chequered from Dubai 5 teammates Saeed Al Falasi and pole winner Rallan finishing second and third respectively - the pair crossing the line side by side. Javier Cervera was fourth, Ali Al Mansoori fifth and Zian sixth.

Race 2 was a tighter affair with Zian showing some of his best form in the run into the final part of the season and coming out on top to take victory by 2.784 seconds, with Al Falasi in second and Al Mansoori third and fourth Rasul Akhmetshin. The latter trio slugging it for all 12 laps. Weaam Abdou was fifth.

Barwani and Zian were back at the sharp end in the third and final race, the pair along with Hussain Umid Ali breaking away from the chasing pack to finish first, second and third respectively. Behind them was another threeway fight which ended with Al Falasi fourth, Akhmetshin fifth and sixth going to Rudolf Tison.

Earlier in the evening Samuel Garbutt won the first of two races in the SWS Junior LR4 Class, with Alex Connor second and Mansour Al Saaraj. But the star of race one was Samir Malas who crossed the line first, but was penalised 10 seconds for what the officials deemed a jumped start which dropped him down to fourth. Nevertheless it was a remarkable performance for the youngest and smallest kid on the grid, in only his second race night at the Kartdrome - one to watch for the future. He was awarded the Novice of Night for his efforts.

Al Sarraj was unstoppable in Race 2, winning by 5.469 seconds from Connor in second, Dennis Bahar in thrid, Kamal Agha fourth and fifth going to Freddie Barker.

The next round, the penultimate one of the 2013 SWS Sprint Series season, will be on 11 December at the Kartdrome.

Click on link for high resolution image:

Caption: SWS Sprint Series trophy winners on the night at Dubai Kartdrome


SOURCE Dubai Autodrome