Residents of Seven Counties Affected by Tropical Storm Lee Now Eligible for Individual Assistance

Sep 23, 2011, 17:30 ET from Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency

HARRISBURG, Pa., Sept. 23, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The federal government has granted the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency's request to add seven more counties to the Presidential declaration that was granted for Tropical Storm Lee for Individual Assistance.

Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Northampton and Philadelphia counties are now added to a list of 19 Pennsylvania counties approved for individual assistance earlier this month. Those counties are: Adams, Bradford, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Luzerne, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Union, Wyoming, and York.

Residents of these counties are approved to apply for individual assistance for damages suffered in storms and flooding from Tropical Storm Lee.  

Individual assistance provides help for individuals and businesses, homeowners and renters as they recover from disasters. These programs are largely funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, although other federal, state and local agencies support the Individual Assistance Programs.

Disaster officials recommend that you register before visiting a Disaster Recovery Center, so that any questions about the application process can be answered in-person. You may visit any DRC regardless of where you live or work.

To register for assistance, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  Applicants who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY should call 1-800-462-7585.

For those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800- 621-3362. Operators assist callers seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.  

Register online at and follow the screen prompts. You may also apply by web-enabled device at

For more information, visit PEMA online at

Media contact: Cory Angell, 717-651-2009

SOURCE Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency