Sony Classical Releases New TITANIC Soundtracks to Coincide With Theatrical Release of TITANIC in 3D


Features Remastered Original Soundtrack Composed And Conducted By James Horner, Plus Unreleased Film Music By I Salonisti

Collector's Edition Also Includes Remastered Version Of The BACK TO TITANIC Soundtrack And A Special Disc Of Popular Music From The Titanic Era

TITANIC in 3D will open on April 4, 2012

Feb 22, 2012, 07:02 ET from Sony Classical

NEW YORK, Feb. 22, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Sony Classical announces the soundtrack releases of TITANIC: Anniversary Edition and TITANIC: Collector's Anniversary Edition on March 26, 2012. The releases will coincide with the newly re-mastered re-release of TITANIC, the world's most beloved and acclaimed film, in theaters on April 4, 2012. The theatrical re-release marks the 100th anniversary of the Titanic setting sail (April 10th). 

In commemoration of these events, Sony Classical will release two newly remastered versions of the original TITANIC soundtrack with extensive bonus material. Both feature an unreleased disc of period music recorded for the movie by I Salonisti, plus 4 bonus vintage Titanic luggage stickers. I Salonisti is the 5-piece quintet that appears in the film. Director James Cameron painstakingly researched the music that was played on the ship and hired them to record authentic music from the period – specifically, the music that all bands from the White Star Line would have been required to perform when hired to play as employees of the prestigious cruise fleet.  Arranger and music historian/advisor John Altman oversaw the process and was tasked with taking the White Star Line official playlist, arranging and recording those songs for the film. Two of the marquee songs on the disc I Salonisti: Gentlemen, It Has Been a Privilege Playing with You Tonight are "Nearer My God To Thee" which was the last song played by the band as the ship went down, and "Song of Autumn" which does not appear in the movie, but is rumored to be the actual song that the band played as the ship went down. 

TITANIC: Collector's Anniversary Edition will include two additional discs featuring the remastered BACK TO TITANIC soundtrack and Popular Music From The Titanic Era, which is a new compilation of songs from the early 1900s.

The music from this blockbuster movie is central to the film and has always been widely embraced by fans.  The original TITANIC soundtrack sold over 26 million units worldwide and the BACK TO TITANIC soundtrack sold over 3 million units worldwide.

Of the new releases, composer and conductor James Horner says, "I'm thrilled that Sony Classical is re-releasing the soundtrack album to TITANIC.  It is wonderful to know that the original music has retained its magic through all of these years."

Of the new film version, director James Cameron says, "There's a whole generation that's never seen TITANIC as it was meant to be seen, on the big screen.  And this will be TITANIC as you've never seen it before, digitally re-mastered at 4K and painstakingly converted to 3D.  With the emotional power intact and the images more powerful than ever, this will be an epic experience for fans and newcomers alike."

The film is released by Paramount Pictures, Twentieth Century Fox and Lightstorm. Written, directed and produced by Cameron, TITANIC is the second highest grossing movie of all time. It is one of only three films to have received a record 11 Academy Awards® including Best Picture and Best Director; and launched the careers of stars Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet.





DISC ONE: TITANIC – Music from the Motion Picture

DISC TWO: I Salonisti: Gentlemen, It Has Been a Privilege Playing with You Tonight

1. Never an Absolution

1. Valse Septembre

2. Distant Memories

2. Marguerite Waltz

3. Southampton

3. Wedding Dance

4. Rose

4. Poet and Peasant

5. Leaving Port

5. Blue Danube

6. "Take Her to Sea, Mr. Murdoch"

6. Song Without Words

7. "Hard to Starboard"

7. Estudiantina

8. Unable to Stay, Unwilling to Leave

8. Vision of Salome

9. The Sinking

9. Titsy Bitsy Girl

10. Death of Titanic

10. Alexander's Ragtime Band

11. A Promise Kept

11. Sphinx

12. A Life So Changed

12. Barcarole

13. An Ocean of Memories

13. Orpheus

14. My Heart Will Go On (performed by Celine Dion)

14. Song of Autumn

15. Hymn to the Sea

15. Nearer My God to Thee



Included only on TITANIC: Collector's Anniversary Edition



1. Titanic Suite

2. An Irish Party In Third Class (performed by Gaelic Storm)

3. Alexander's Ragtime Band (performed by I Salonisti)

4. The Portrait

5. Jack Dawson's Luck

6. A Building Panic

7. Nearer My God to Thee (performed by I Salonisti)  

8. Come Josephine, In My Flying Machine (performed by Maire Brennan) 

9. Lament

10. A Shore Never Reached 

11. My Heart Will Go On - with dialogue from the film (performed by Celine Dion)

12. Epilogue: The Deep And Timeless Sea  



DISC FOUR: Popular Music from the Titanic Era

1. It's a Long Way to Tipperary (John McCormack)

2. Let Me Call You Sweetheart (Halfway House Dance Orchestra)

3. Vilia (Guy Lombardo & His Orchestra)

4. My Gal Sal (Chick Bullock & His Levee Loungers)

5. Oh! You Beautiful Doll (Chuck Foster & His Orchestra)

6. Martha (Adrian Rollinoi Trio)

7. In the Shade of the Old Apple Tree (Duke Ellington & His Orchestra)

8. Waiting at the Church (Beatrice Kay)

9. Frasquita Serenade (John Kirby & His Orchestra)

10. Shine On, Harvest Moon (Hal Kemp)

11. From the Land of the Sky Blue Water (Mildred Bailey & Her Orchestra)

12. Loch Lomond (Maxine Sullivan & Her Orchestra)

13. A Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight (Miff Mole's Molers)

SOURCE Sony Classical