Specialty Food Association Honors Six Industry Leaders

Awards to be Presented at Winter Fancy Food Show

Dec 09, 2015, 13:57 ET from Specialty Food Association

NEW YORK, Dec. 9, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- The Specialty Food Association announces six winners of  its fourth annual Leadership Awards honoring members who have gone "above and beyond" in advancing food standards in society – and society itself – by creating social, economic and environmental impact through innovation and vision.

Their achievements range from navigating a food safety crisis to creating products that support both health and the environment to enhancing community through launching food businesses that empower workers in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Africa.  

The winners are:


  • Kimberly Jung, Rumi Spice
  • Linda Appel Lipsius, Teatulia Organic Teas

Business Leadership:

  • John Lowe, Jeni's Splendid Ice Cream
  • Greg Steltenpohl, Califia Farms


  • Josh Tetrick, Hampton Creek
  • Nikhil Arora and Alejandro Velez, Back to the Roots

"Throughout the specialty food industry, dedicated entrepreneurs demonstrate creativity, business acumen, and a commitment to make the world a better place through their products and practices," says Ron Tanner, vice president, philanthropy, government and industry relations for the Specialty Food Association. "Their efforts toward worker empowerment, protection of the environment, and fair regulations and policies continue to break new ground and inspire others to take action."

Read more about the Leadership Awards winners at specialtyfood.com/awards.

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony January 18 at the Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco. The keynote speaker is Paul Saginaw, co-owner and founder of Zingerman's Community of Businesses, who has helped build the company into a $50-million-plus enterprise by pursuing a social as well as a business agenda.

Nominations for the awards were made by members of the Specialty Food Association and others in the specialty food industry. A panel of judges composed of industry experts and influencers selected the honorees from more than 50 nominees across the three categories.

The judges included Derek Mulhern, Organic Trade Association, Washington, D.C.; Joe Roy, UNFI, Providence, R.I.; Donna Daniels, Social Venture Network, San Francisco; Rebecca Fontes, City Harvest, New York City; Errol Schweizer, Whole Foods Market, Austin, Texas; David Gremmels, Rogue Creamery, Central Point, Ore., and Sara Holby, Ajiri Tea, Upper Black Eddy, Pa.

Press Registration
The Winter Fancy Food Show is a trade-only event. The Specialty Food Association provides complimentary press badges to qualified media. Learn more and register.

About Specialty Food Association
The Specialty Food Association is a thriving community of food artisans, importers and entrepreneurs.  Established in 1952 in New York, the not-for-profit trade association provides its 3,000 members in the U.S. and abroad the tools, knowledge and connections to champion and nurture their companies in an always-evolving marketplace. The Association (formerly the National Association for the Specialty Food Trade, Inc.) owns and produces the Winter and Summer Fancy Food Show, and presents the sofi Awards honoring excellence in specialty food. Learn more at specialtyfood.com.

Facebook: facebook.com/craftcarejoy 
Twitter: twitter.com/craftcarejoy #WFFS16
LinkedIn: Specialty Food. Craft. Care. Joy. 
Pinterest: pinterest.com/craftcarejoy 
Instagram: craftcarejoy

Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20140714/126744

SOURCE Specialty Food Association