State Museum of Pennsylvania Announces Finalists for Annual 'Art of the State' Exhibit

Jun 14, 2010, 13:55 ET from Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission

152 Finalists from 34 Counties Chosen from More than 2,000 Entries

HARRISBURG, Pa., June 14 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The "Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2010" exhibition, showcasing the talent, creativity and diversity of Pennsylvania's established and emerging artists, will open to the public on Sunday, June 27, at The State Museum of Pennsylvania in Harrisburg.

First, second and third place honors are awarded in painting, photography, sculpture and craft.  Cash awards for each category are 1st prize - $500; 2nd - $300, and 3rd - $200.  In addition, the William D. Davis Memorial Award for Drawing, the Rose Roy Memorial Award, and The State Museum of Pennsylvania Purchase Award are selected.

"Pennsylvania artists shine in the exhibit this year with impressive works that range from the whimsical to the traditional with a wide mix in between," said N. Lee Stevens, exhibit curator. "The entries provide a fascinating look at the extraordinary talents of our artists and the varied subjects of their work."

The 43rd annual exhibit runs through Sept. 12 and includes 152 works of art which were selected from over 2,000 entries. This represents 152 artists from 34 counties.

The exhibit is co-sponsored by The State Museum and The Greater Harrisburg Arts Council, which present over $5,000 in cash awards to the winners.

The State Museum of Pennsylvania, located at 300 North Street, Harrisburg, is one of 25 historic sites and museums on the Pennsylvania Trail of History® administered by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission. Museum hours are Thursday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, noon to 5 p.m. For information on other exhibitions, events and programs at The State Museum, visit

Visit the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission online at

Media contact: Kirk Wilson, 717-783-9882

Editor's Note: The artists selected to exhibit at the 2010 Art of the State competition are as follows:


Jim Agard, Gettysburg

Joh Ricci, New Oxford

Ted Scarpino, Biglerville


Karen Ferrick, Pittsburgh

Kyle Ethan Fischer, Pittsburgh

Vanessa German, Pittsburgh

David Burtt Harris, Pittsburgh

Sandy Kessler Kaminski, Pittsburgh

Sun Young Kang, Pittsburgh

Patrick Lee, Pittsburgh

Brigette Marshala, Springdale

Jeannie McGuire, Pittsburgh

John Mowder, Pittsburgh

Sherrie Plonski, Coraopolis

Wesley Smith, Pittsburgh


Susan Biebuyck, Boyertown

Daniel Gorman, Oley

David Rogers, Mertztown

N. Sarangoulis, Reading

Joanne Schlosser, Birdsboro

Lore Stephan, Mohnton

Diane Turner, Kutztown

Pam Ullman, Reading


Allen M. Capriotti, Altoona


Becky Harr, Churchville

Jonathan Hertzel, Chalfont

Christopher Kline, Doylestown

John McDevitt, New Hope

Heather Ujiie, Langhorne


Joel LeBow, Jim Thorpe


Mark Davis, State College

Greg Grieco, State College

Steven Rubin, State College

Mary Vollero, Bellefonte


Lauren Acton, Wayne

Mark Bockrath, West Chester

Donna Festa, West Grove

Peggy Hartzell, Glenmoore

Sandra Sigley, Malvern


Ken Conner, Bloomsburg

Sam Dion, Bloomsburg


Howard J. Eberle, Boiling Springs

R. Andrew Hoff, Camp Hill

Teri Oja, Enola

Nancy Z. Parcels, Mechanicsburg

James Rasp, Carlisle

Heather Shelley, Carlisle

Bob Willis, Shiremanstown


Joel Anderson, Lykens

David Bottini, Harrisburg

Jolene Esposito, Hershey

Corinna Jablonski, Harrisburg

Suzanne Mead, Harrisburg

Matthew Murray, Harrisburg

Gene VanDyke, Hershey

Ted Walke, Harrisburg


Greg Benson, Havertown

Lisa Boughter, Haverford

Leslie Bowen, Newtown Square

Boo Young Kim, Newtown Square

Dana McElroy, Havertown

Carol Sexton, Wallingford

Peter Smyth, Upper Darby

Carol Vandewall-Baca, Media


Geoffrey S. Beadle, Erie

Cappy Counard, Edinboro

Tom Hubert, Fairview

Mel Keiser, Edinboro

Fred Scruton, Cranesville


Philip Lindsey, Chambersburg


Kyle Hallam, Jefferson


Peter Hoffer, Waverly


Denny Bond, East Petersburg

Joseph Caroppoli, Mount Joy

Ronald Ettelman, Mountville

Carol Galligan, Lancaster

Claire Giblin, Millersville

Diane Goble, Akron

Jerome Hershey, Lancaster

Christopher Hondru, Manheim

Matthew Lester, Lancaster

Shalya Marsh, Lancaster

Brant Schuller, Lancaster

Geoffrey Scott, Maytown

Kate Shelley, Lititz

Emilie Snyder, Marietta

Mary E. Stoudt, Reinholds

Debi Watson, Lancaster


Eva Stina Bender, Annville

Lou Schellenberg, Mount Gretna


Barry Assed, Whitehall

Chuck Hamilton, Alburtis

Sharon Hamilton, Alburtis

Jason Travers, Fountain Hill

Christina Yesenofski, Allentown


Diana Bekkerman, Wilkes-Barre


Jeremiah Johnson, Williamsport

David Moyer, Muncy


Edward Evans, Stroudsburg


Susan Abrams, Merion Station

Carol Albrecht, Lansdale

Sarah Barr, Wynnewood

John A. Benigno, Wynnewood

Sarah Bloom, Merion Station

Jim Hendricks, Pottstown

Tom Herbert, Jenkintown

Louise M. Herring, Narberth

Patricia Shaw Lima, Meadowbrook

Elaine Lisle, Bryn Mawr

Tilda Mann, Wynnewood

Nancy Bea Miller, Narberth

David Noyes, Gilbertsville

Felicia Perretti, Roslyn

Eleanor Schimmel, Haverford

Anthony Tammaro, Conshohocken


Karen Steen, Bethlehem

Marta Whistler, Easton


Larry Shull, Landisburg

Erin Sparler, Marysville


James B. Abbott

Anina Banks

Matthew L. Colaizzo

Keith Crowley

Peter Cunicelli

Yasuji Paul Hamanaka

Andrea Krupp

Shelly I. Lependorf

Mary Em McGlone

Nancy Middlebrook

Brenna K. Murphy

Don Nakamura

Lynn Rosenthal

Ron Rumford

Stan Shire

Angela Victor

Michael Young

Laura Jean Zito


Michael Pyrdsa, Tamaqua

Robert Stickloon, Pottsville


Jeffrey Martin, Port Trevorton


Mark Chuck, Kingsley

Robert Griffith, Hallstead


Kaitlyn  L. Evans, Mansfield


Rosalyn Richards, Lewisburg


Richard A. Stoner, Latrobe


Janice Henning, Laceyville


Tristyn Albright, York

Laura M. Desautels, Manchester

Richard C. Hoff, Felton

Jo Margolis, Wellsville

Catherine Prescott, Mechanicsburg

Theodore Prescott, Mechanicsburg

SOURCE Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission