TechAmerica Orange County Unveils 2010 High-Tech Innovation Awards Winners

Jun 04, 2010, 15:19 ET from TechAmerica

Organization recognizes the top contributors to local innovation and global competition

IRVINE, Calif., June 4 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- TechAmerica today announced the winners of its 17th Annual High-Tech Innovation Awards. The winners were recognized on the evening of June 2, during the ceremony that drew luminaries from local high-tech companies, financial and government institutions, as well as academic leaders, educators, students, and investors.


"TechAmerica is proud to honor all the finalists and winners of this year's High-Tech Innovation Awards," said Bob Brunson, associate director of TechAmerica Orange County. "Many innovative companies make Orange County their base of operation. In addition to driving the local economy, these companies, educators and students are inventing the future with products and services that make life easier, safer and more convenient for everyone."

In conjunction with Project Tomorrow, TechAmerica Orange County recognized educators and students for their innovative use of math, science and technology in the classroom and the community.

Congratulations to Orange County's innovators:

Harvey Mudd College Green Engineering Award

Winner:  MicroMedia Filtration Inc.

Certificate of Merit:  Teridian Semiconductor Corp

Greg Ross Community Service Award

Bruce Hallett, managing director, Miramar Venture Partners

Outstanding CEO

Heath Clarke,

Outstanding Company in Medical Technology

Endologix Inc.

Outstanding Technology Company

Teridian Semiconductor Corp.

Innovative Product/Technology In 2009 Winners

Cloud Computing

Telogis Fleet by Telogis


SilverCare by SilverPlus Inc.

Internet E-Commerce

Building Optimization Platform by Genea Energy

Medical Devices

BioniCare Knee System & OActive Brace by VQ OrthoCare


QVU™ Technology by Quartics


Primary Micro Line Of Credit by Primary Innovations


RapidFlex™ Rapid Mobile Deployment Unit (RMDU) by Powerwave Technologies Inc.

Project Tomorrow Innovation In Education Winners

Innovative School Program in Science, Math and Technology

Craig Collins, Trabuco Hills High School, Saddleback Valley Unified School District

High Impact Teacher of the Year in Science, Math and Technology

Amy Welch, Brea Olinda High School, Brea Olinda Unified School District

Emerging Student Innovator

Lyssa Aruda, Corona del Mar High School, Newport-Mesa Unified School District

The 17th Annual TechAmerica High-Tech Innovation Awards were underwritten and produced by financial and in-kind sponsors. These include Platinum sponsors BDO, Silicon Valley Bank and Straddling Yocca Carlson & Rauth; Gold sponsor Dickstein Shapiro; and Silver sponsors Ernst &Young and Mavenlink. Emulex generously sponsored the Project Tomorrow Innovation in Education Awards and Remarx Media was the media sponsor.

For more information about the High-Tech Innovation Awards, visit

About TechAmerica

TechAmerica is the leading voice for the U.S. technology industry – the driving force behind productivity growth and jobs creation in the United States and the foundation of the global innovation economy. Representing approximately 1,200 member companies of all sizes from the public and commercial sectors of the economy, it is the industry's largest advocacy organization and is dedicated to helping members' top and bottom lines. TechAmerica is also the technology industry's only grassroots-to-global advocacy network, with offices in state capitals around the United States, Washington, D.C., Europe (Brussels) and Asia (Beijing).It was formed by the merger of AeA (formerly the American Electronics Association), the Cyber Security Industry Alliance (CSIA), the Information Technology Association of America (ITAA) and the Government Electronics & Information Technology Association (GEIA).Learn more about TechAmerica at


Anne Caliguiri Savoie, TechAmerica, 703-284-5305,

Theresa Dreike, Remarx Media Inc., 714-706-0433, ext. 102,

SOURCE TechAmerica