TechAmerica Orange County Unveils 2011 High-Tech Innovation Awards Winners

Jun 10, 2011, 13:08 ET from TechAmerica

Organization recognizes the top contributors to local innovation and global competition

IRVINE, Calif., June 10, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- TechAmerica today announced the winners of its 18th Annual Orange County High-Tech Innovation Awards. The winners were recognized on the evening of June 9, 2011 during the ceremony that drew luminaries from local high-tech companies, financial and government institutions, as well as academic leaders, educators, students, and investors.

"TechAmerica is proud to honor all the finalists and winners of this year's High-Tech Innovation Awards," said Bob Brunson, associate director of TechAmerica Orange County. "Many innovative companies make Orange County their base of operation. These companies, educators and students are inventing the future with products and services that make life easier, safer and more convenient."

In conjunction with Project Tomorrow and sponsor Emulex, TechAmerica Orange County recognized educators and students for their innovative use of math, science and technology in the classroom and the community.

Congratulations to Orange County's innovators:

Harvey Mudd College Green Engineering Award
Winner: Greenway Design Group, Inc.
Certificate of Merit: Amonix
Fisker Automotive

Outstanding CEO
Steven T. Plochocki, Quality Systems

Outstanding Technology Company

Innovative Product/Technology in 2010
Evantix Risk and Compliance Portal By Evantix

ViridiSTOR Green Box™ Solution By ViridiSTOR LLC

Internet E-Commerce
MOBI Vibes 2.0 By WiseWindow

Medical Devices
Masimo Pronto-7 by Masimo

RFX2402 Single-Chip Single-Die Silicon RF Front-end Integrated Circuit (RFeIC) By Rfaxis Inc.

OneCommand Vision By Emulex

Powerwave Triple Broadband Antenna Family By Powerwave Technologies

Project Tomorrow Innovation in Education Finalists
Emerging Student Innovator
Rahia Zaidi, Brea Olinda High School, Brea Olinda Unified School District

High Impact Teacher in Science, Math and Technology
Betty Cappelletti, JSerra Catholic High School

Innovation School Program in Science, Math and Technology
Kevin Rafferty, Principal, Davis Magnet School, Newport-Mesa Unified School District

The 18th Annual TechAmerica High-Tech Innovation Awards were underwritten and produced by financial and in-kind sponsors. These include Platinum sponsors Deloitte, Silicon Valley Bank and Straddling Yocca Carlson & Rauth; Gold sponsors Dickstein Shapiro and UPS; and Silver sponsors and United Healthcare. In addition, the Harvey Mudd College Green Engineering Award is sponsored by Mavenlink. Emulex generously sponsored the Project Tomorrow Innovation in Education Awards and Remarx Media was the media sponsor.

For more information about the High-Tech Innovation Awards, visit

About TechAmerica

TechAmerica is the leading voice for the U.S. technology industry – the driving force behind productivity growth and jobs creation in the United States and the foundation of the global innovation economy. Representing approximately 1,000 member companies of all sizes from the public and commercial sectors of the economy, it is the industry's largest advocacy organization and is dedicated to helping members' top and bottom lines. TechAmerica is also the technology industry's only grassroots-to-global advocacy network, with offices in state capitals around the United States, Washington, D.C., Europe (Brussels) and Asia (Beijing).It was formed by the merger of AeA (formerly the American Electronics Association), the Cyber Security Industry Alliance (CSIA), the Information Technology Association of America (ITAA) and the Government Electronics & Information Technology Association (GEIA).Learn more about TechAmerica at

Contact: Anne Caliguiri Savoie, 703-284-5305 or
Theresa Dreike, Remarx Media Inc. for TechAmerica Orange County, 714-706-0433, ext. 102 or

SOURCE TechAmerica