Texas Children's Hospital, Baylor College of Medicine radiologists gain international recognition at the Society for Pediatric Radiology's 2012 annual meeting

May 23, 2012, 11:48 ET from Texas Children's Hospital

HOUSTON, May 23, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Physicians, researchers and medical students from Texas Children's Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine (BCM) in Houston received prominent acclaim during the 2012 Society for Pediatric Radiology annual meeting held April 16 through 20 in San Francisco. Click here for more information about pediatric radiology at Texas Children's Hospital.

Dr. George Bisset, chief of pediatric radiology at Texas Children's Hospital and the Edward B. Singleton professor of radiology at BCM, was awarded the Pioneer Honor at this year's meeting. Bisset, who is also the president of the Radiological Society of North America, earned this highly prestigious award which is given to physicians who help drive the field of pediatric radiology forward with unique milestones that have fundamentally advanced the discipline.

Physicians, researchers and students from Texas Children's and BCM won several other awards for outstanding research:

  • The Caffey Award for Best Basic Science Paper went to Dr. Ananth Annapragada, professor of radiology, Dr. R. Paul Guillerman, associate professor of radiology, and Dr. Ketan Ghaghada, assistant professor of radiology, all of BCM. The topic of this paper was the "Advantages of a nanoparticle blood pool contrast agent over conventional intravascular glomerular-filtered contrast agents for pulmonary vascular imaging."  Other authors on the award winning paper included Dr. Eric Hoffman, professor of radiology at the University of Iowa, Dr. David Kaczka, assistant professor of anesthesia at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Dr. Cristian Badea, assistant professor of radiology at Duke University.
  • The John Kirkpatrick Young Investigator Award went to BCM student Saivivek Bogale for the "Analysis of optimal phase interval for prospective EKG-triggered cardiac CT in children."
  • Dr. Rajesh Krishnamurthy, director of cardiovascular imaging at Texas Children's and director of research in the department of pediatric radiology at BCM, who served as Bogale's senior author and faculty mentor was honored with his own Honorable Mention for Best Scientific Paper. This paper addressed "Cardiovascular image quality using a liposomal-based nanoscale blood pool CT contrast agent: Assessment of potential targets for congenital heart disease in a pig model."

"I am impressed, though not surprised, by the numerous awards and achievements garnered at this year's meeting," said Bisset. "These honors truly demonstrate the strength of the department and the impact our physicians and researchers are having on the field of pediatric radiology which will help children across the nation."

In addition to these awards, researchers from Texas Children's and BCM gave 15 presentations, lectured at several sunrise sessions, moderated several workshops and participated in a 3-D face-off and computed tomography (CT) protocol session.

About Texas Children's Hospital
Texas Children's Hospital is committed to a community of healthy children by providing the finest pediatric patient care, education and research. Renowned worldwide for its expertise and breakthrough developments in clinical care and research, Texas Children's is nationally ranked in all 10 subspecialties in U.S.News & World Report's list of Best Children's Hospitals. Texas Children's also operates the nation's largest primary pediatric care network, with more than 40 offices throughout the greater Houston community. Texas Children's has embarked on a $1.5 billion expansion, Vision 2010, which includes the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, a comprehensive obstetrics facility focusing on high-risk births and a community hospital in suburban West Houston. For more information on Texas Children's Hospital, go to www.texaschildrens.org. Get the latest news from Texas Children's Hospital by visiting the online newsroom and on Twitter at twitter.com/texaschildrens.

Contact: Jenn Blackmer

Glenna Picton

SOURCE Texas Children's Hospital