Texas Realtors celebrate annual achievements in the real estate industry

Feb 21, 2013, 12:06 ET from Texas Association of Realtors

Winter Meeting honors those who made an impact in 2012

AUSTIN, Texas, Feb. 21, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Celebrating a year of accomplishments, the Texas Association of Realtors recognized outstanding members and local associations February 15 during its annual Winter Meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Austin.

(Logo http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110414/MM83862LOGO)

"This event commemorates a year of incredible growth for the Texas housing market and is a chance to honor the Texas Realtors and local Realtor organizations that have been true innovators and leaders for our association and our industry," said Shad Bogany, chairman of the Texas Association of Realtors.

Receiving one of the most anticipated awards of the day, Lance Lacy, a former TAR chairman and owner of Lacy & Co. Realty in San Angelo, was named Texas Realtor of the Year. This title is bestowed annually to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the industry through involvement in their national, state and local Realtor organizations over the past 10 years.

Carolyn Arnold, chief executive at the Permian Basin Board of Realtors in Midland, received one of the most esteemed leadership recognitions, the Tom D. Morton Award for top association executive in Texas. In the last seven years, Arnold has raised the highest per-capita TREPAC (Texas Real Estate Political Action Committee) investments in the state, doubled attendance at local association luncheons and revamped the board's committee structure.

The William C. Jennings Award for best commercial real estate transaction was awarded to Ken Wimberly of Arlington for his strategic guidance in the purchase of a large portion of the Six Flags Mall.

In addition, Texas Realtors gave special recognition to continuing-education instructors and programs. Katrina Barnes of Houston was named Educator of the Year. An advocate for ensuring quality Realtor education, Barnes is a GRI (Graduate Realtor Institute) instructor who also teaches technology, broker-responsibility, marketing, and pre-licensing classes for Texas Realtors.

The Houston Association of Realtors and MetroTex Association of Realtors also were honored with Education Program of the Year awards. These awards recognize outstanding local-association education programs that meet member needs and increase professionalism in the real estate industry.

The Texas Association of Realtors also inducted six members into the National Association of Realtors Omega Tau Rho fraternity, which recognizes Realtors who have made outstanding contributions to the real estate industry. Inductees included: Roy Del Bosque of Corpus Christi; Kaki Lybbert of Greater Denton/Wise County; Patricia Mays of MetroTex; Rob Rayner of Greater Denton/Wise County; and Tom Gann of Lukfin.

Finally, the Texas Realtor Hero Award, which recognizes a Texas Realtor who has done exemplary work in promoting and advancing homeownership in Texas, was given to Bryan Hutchinson of the Greater Lewisville Association of Realtors. Hutchinson created a give-back program to fund temporary housing for families of children with cancer and was instrumental in launching the "Cloud 9 Charities Challenge," a program that benefits homeless families.

About the Texas Association of REALTORS®

With approximately 80,000 members, the Texas Association of REALTORS® is a professional membership organization that represents all aspects of real estate in Texas. We advocate on behalf of Texas REALTORS® and private-property owners to keep homeownership affordable, protect private-property rights, and promote public policies that benefit homeowners. Visit TexasRealEstate.com to learn more.

CONTACT: Stacy Armijo
Pierpont Communications

SOURCE Texas Association of Realtors