The Dallas Morning News Launches 2012 Texan of the Year Series, Names Jason Roberts as Finalist

Dec 18, 2012, 10:00 ET from The Dallas Morning News

DALLAS, Dec. 18, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- The Dallas Morning News today launched its tenth annual Texan of the Year series, naming Jason Roberts as a finalist. Editorials about nine finalists will appear from December 18 through December 28, with the 2012 Dallas Morning News Texan of the Year published in the newspaper on December 30. 

The Texan of the Year is recognized for uncommon impact. Roberts was named a finalist for energetic leadership that has inspired others to improve their communities.

As noted in the editorial, Roberts is galvanizing communities around the country to break through bureaucracies and reverse urban blight and decay, setting an example with "Better Block" demonstration projects that he first created in his Oak Cliff neighborhood. He has since taken that concept to dozens of cities nationwide. According to Roberts, "You don't have to spend millions of dollars on studies. You can incubate things as a community."

The full text of the editorial will be in Tuesday's paper and posted at Readers can visit the website and comment on the selection and view videos in which The News' editorial writers explain the selections.

"The editorial board received hundreds of thought-provoking nominations this year, and it was a challenge to select only 10," said Keven Ann Willey, vice president and editorial page editor of The Dallas Morning News. "I'm delighted to announce this year's compelling and varied finalists, as I'm certain our readers will agree with the merit of each."  

Now in its tenth year, the Dallas Morning News Texan of the Year series draws from reader nominations to the newspaper's Editorial Board. Criteria call for "a Texan (or Texans) who has had uncommon impact – positive or negative – over the past year." The editorial board selected the finalists and the Texan of the Year through an internal vote.

Recent Dallas Morning News Texans of the Year include:

  • 2011: Admiral Bill McRaven (for his service as commander of the special operations raid that killed al-Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden)
  • 2010: Texas governor Rick Perry (for his peerless political instincts that led to an unprecedented third term as Texas governor and catapulted him onto the national stage)
  • 2009: The Heroes of Fort Hood (recognizing those caught up in the terror of a mass shooting, extended to include all Fort Hood-based military people and their families)
  • 2008: Dallas County District Attorney Craig Watkins (for his dedication to reversing cases of injustice)

For more information or to schedule an interview with Keven Ann Willey or editorial writer and project editor Rodger Jones, please contact Stephanie Hoefken at 214-891-7693 or

About The Dallas Morning News
Established in 1885, The Dallas Morning News ( is Texas' leading newspaper and the flagship newspaper subsidiary of A. H. Belo Corporation. It has received nine Pulitzer Prizes since 1986, as well as numerous other industry awards recognizing the quality of its investigative and feature journalism, design and photojournalism. Its portfolio of print and digital products reaches an average daily audience of more than 1.1 million people and includes online news and information sites; iPhone, Android and iPad apps; Al Dia (, the leading Spanish-language daily in North Texas; neighborsgo (, a consumer-generated community news outlet; and Briefing, the free, home-delivered quick-read.

To advertisers, the portfolio of products is represented by DMNmedia (, the marketing solutions group of The Dallas Morning News, Inc.

SOURCE The Dallas Morning News