The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network Welcomes Prestigious New Members to Its Scientific Advisory Board

Oct 20, 2011, 09:00 ET from Pancreatic Cancer Action Network

MANHATTAN BEACH, Calif., Oct. 20, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network has named seven prestigious new members to the organization's Scientific Advisory Board. The newest advisors are leaders in the field of pancreatic cancer: Christine Iacobuzio-Donahue, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins University; Anirban Maitra, MD, Johns Hopkins University; Frank McCormick, PhD, FRS, University of California, San Francisco; Anil Rustgi, MD, University of Pennsylvania; Diane Simeone, MD, University of Michigan; Craig Thompson, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering; and Robert Vonderheide, MD, DPhil, University of Pennsylvania.


"I am pleased to welcome these distinguished researchers to the Scientific Advisory Board. They bring a great wealth of cross-disciplinary expertise to the organization and their active participation will further strengthen our scientific and research agenda," stated Julie Fleshman, President and CEO of the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network. "The fact that several of our Scientific Advisory Board members are former Pancreatic Cancer Action Network grant recipients, emphasizes that we are funding the best and brightest scientists who become leaders in the field of pancreatic cancer research."

The role of the Scientific Advisory Board is essential as the organization works to double the survival rate for pancreatic cancer patients by 2020. Currently, the five year survival rate is just six percent and has remained largely unchanged in the last 40 years because early detection tools and effective treatments have yet to be developed.  The Scientific Advisory Board provides advice, scientific expertise, and leadership to the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network with regards to the research and scientific program goals and initiatives of the organization.

The terms of three longstanding members of the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network's Scientific Advisory Board ended in June 2011: Ralph Hruban, MD, Johns Hopkins University; Margaret Mandelson, PhD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center; and Selwyn Vickers, MD, University of Minnesota. Another two members will complete their terms in October 2011: Teri Brentnall, MD, University of Washington; and Elizabeth Jaffee, MD, Johns Hopkins University.  All past members will transition onto the organization's Emeritus Scientific Advisory Board.  "We thank them for their tremendous contributions and expert guidance over the years," added Fleshman.

To learn more about the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network's Scientific Advisory Board, click here.

About the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network

The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network is the national organization creating hope in a comprehensive way through research, patient support, community outreach and advocacy for a cure. The organization is leading the way to increase the survival rate for people diagnosed with this devastating disease through a bold initiative—The Vision of Progress: Double the Pancreatic Cancer Survival Rate by 2020. Together, we can know, fight and end pancreatic cancer by intensifying our efforts to heighten awareness, raise funds for comprehensive private research, and advocate for dedicated federal research to advance early diagnostics, better treatments and increase chances of survival.

Available Topic Expert(s): For information on the listed expert(s), click appropriate link.
Julie Fleshman

SOURCE Pancreatic Cancer Action Network