Thoratec Announces Presentations at Upcoming Investor Conferences

Mar 03, 2011, 16:30 ET from Thoratec Corporation

PLEASANTON, Calif., March 3, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Thoratec Corporation (Nasdaq: THOR), a world leader in device-based mechanical circulatory support therapies to save, support and restore failing hearts, said today it will be participating in two upcoming investor conferences.

On Monday, March 7, the company will participate in the Raymond James 32nd Annual Institutional Investors Conference. David V. Smith, executive vice president and chief financial officer, will provide an update on the company, beginning at 11 a.m., Eastern Standard Time (8 a.m., Pacific Standard Time). The presentation will be available through the conference web site at, or on the company's web site at

On Wednesday, March 16, Thoratec will present at the Barclays Capital 2011 Global Healthcare Conference. The presentation by David V. Smith will begin at 9 a.m., Eastern Daylight Time (6 a.m., Pacific Daylight Time) and can be accessed through the conference web site at, or on the company's website at

Thoratec is a world leader in therapies to address advanced-stage heart failure. The company's products include the HeartMate® LVAS (Left Ventricular Assist System) and Thoratec® VAD (Ventricular Assist Device) with more than 15,000 devices implanted in patients suffering from heart failure. Thoratec is headquartered in Pleasanton, California. For more information, visit the company's web site at

Thoratec, the Thoratec logo, HeartMate and HeartMate II are registered trademarks of Thoratec Corporation and IVAD is a trademark of Thoratec Corporation.

SOURCE Thoratec Corporation