TiE Silicon Valley Announces TiE50 2011 Winners

The most enterprising companies honored at TiEcon 2011

May 03, 2011, 18:31 ET from TiE Silicon Valley

SANTA CLARA, Calif., May 3, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- (http://www.myprgenie.com/) -- TiE, the organizer of TiEcon 2011, the world's largest conference for entrepreneurs, announced the winners of the TiE50 Awards. The TiE50 awards will be presented at TiEcon 2011, May 13 - 14th, at the Santa Clara Convention Center in Santa Clara, CA.

The 50 winners selected from 291 finalists and over 1,600 nominations, represent the most enterprising startups of 2011 in five sectors that are driving today's economy: Internet/Social Networking, Software/Cloud Computing, Life Sciences, Wireless/Mobile and Energy/Cleantech.

The TiE 50 judging process was designed with meticulous planning, screening and judging by over forty prominent entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, corporate executives and other domain experts.

"The TiE50 represent the best in entrepreneurship - risk-taking yet pragmatic, visionary but market-aware, and a passion to be the best," according to Vish Mishra, President of TiE Silicon Valley. "We hold up these companies as role models for any enterprise, big or small, established or being incubated, which aspires to success in a dynamic and demanding marketplace."

The TiE50 2011 Winners (by Sector) are:

Software/Cloud Computing --

Acquia, Inc.,  Apptio, Claritics, Cloudera, Inc., Glassbeam, Inc., Gluster, OrangeScape Technologies Limited, Silver Peak Systems, Inc., Socialtext, Inc., SugarSync, Inc.

Internet/Social Networking --

FireEye, Inc., Kabam, Inc., Mobifusion, Inc., oDesk Corporation, Plastic Jungle, Sococo,  Sokikom, SteelHouse, Wildfire Interactive, Zuberance 

Wireless/Mobile --

Avnera Corporation, Bump Technologies, Cinemacraft Pte Ltd, E-Senza Technologies GmbH, Luna Ergonomics Pvt Ltd, mFoundry, Inc,  Roamware, Inc., SmrtGuard Security,  Stoke, Inc., Zenprise

Energy/Cleantech --

Boston-Power, Inc., Deeya Inc, Great Point, Inc., LanzaTech,  Novomer, Inc., Oorja Protonics, Seeo, Inc., Soladigm, Inc., Stion Corporation, Virident   

Life Sciences --

AirXpanders Inc., BIND Biosciences, Inc., CoLucid Pharmaceuticals, Inc., KYTHERA Biopharmaceuticals, Inc., Nabriva Therapeutics AG, Neuronetics, Inc., Pronota NV, Stentys S.A., TransEnterix, Inc., ViewRay, Inc.   

The TiE50 winners are diverse in terms of size, stage of company, type of funding and location, but they share a common thread of innovation, ingenuity, strong management teams and quality of ideas. TiE50 winners will present their companies in a live showcase over the two days of TiEcon 2011, on May 13th and 14th in Santa Clara, CA.

TiEcon 2011: Innovation Reigns, will feature session tracks and keynote speeches focused on the 5 key market segments listed above. Keynotes at TiEcon 2011 include:  Steve Case, Co-Founder of AOL and Chair of the Startup America Partnership; Sal Khan, Educator and Founder of the Khan Academy; Vinod Khosla, Founding CEO of Sun Microsystems, Founder of Khosla Ventures; and Dr. David Ferrucci, Lead IBM Watson Scientist.

Register for TiEcon 2011 by visiting www.tiecon.org.

Follow TiEcon on Twitter, Facebook, and on YouTube. 

About TiE50 Awards

TiE50 is TiE Silicon Valley's premier annual awards program keenly contested by technology startups worldwide. TiE50 track record since inception in May 2009 shows that 94% of the winners and finalists have been funded, attracting over $20 Billion in investments! 42 companies have been acquired, merged or went public.

Contact: Amanda Day, amanda@tie.org, 408-567-0700

SOURCE TiE Silicon Valley