Walt Disney Records To Release Wreck-It Ralph Original Motion Picture Soundtrack On October 30, 2012


Oct 17, 2012, 17:02 ET from Walt Disney Records

BURBANK, Calif., Oct. 17, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Walt Disney Records will release the soundtrack for the Walt Disney Animation Studios film "Wreck-It Ralph" on Oct. 30, 2012, which features four new songs and a score by composer Henry Jackman ("Winnie the Pooh," "X-Men: First Class").  Owl City contributes the end-credit song "When Can I See You Again?"  Directed by Rich Moore, produced by Clark Spencer and featuring the voices of John C. Reilly, Sarah Silverman, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch, "Wreck-It Ralph" crashes into theatres on Nov. 2, 2012.

(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20121017/LA95204)

Classically trained composer Henry Jackman was called on to write the score for "Wreck-It Ralph," helping to shape the film's diverse worlds with music. Jackman researched arcade games and incorporated their classic sounds into the score, bringing the arcade and its individual games to life.  According to Jackman, the score was driven by the story, which allowed him to tap his classical roots, too. "When something emotional is developing, it actually opens the door to the orchestral score without it feeling imposed," he said.

Underscoring the chaos and excitement of Hero's Duty, the first-person shooter game, GRAMMY®-winning artist Skrillex wrote the game-play music, "Bug Hunt," hand-picking Netherlands' producers/DJs/videogame soundtrack composers Noisia to remix the track for the album. "The mood of that game world is high-energy and futuristic. I make music with many different colors of the emotional spectrum—this reflects a more aggressive side of my music."

Owl City ("Fireflies," "Good Time") provides an upbeat and story-driven cap to the film with "When Can I See You Again?" According to singer/songwriter/instrumentalist Adam Young, the song offers a bit of an emotional tug-of-war. "It's a very bouncy, happy, uplifting song, but there's a bittersweet part of it, leaving a key relationship in the film open-ended."   The music video was directed by Matt Stawski (Cee Lo Green, Train, All Time Low) and creates the world of a classic 8-bit video game that seamlessly connects it to the world of "Wreck-It Ralph."  The video will premiere exclusively on VEVO Oct. 26.

Japan's pop phenomenon AKB48 accompanies Ralph to the land of sweets with the aptly named theme song "Sugar Rush." The song also appears in the end credits.

Also contributing to the end credits are Buckner & Garcia, the team behind the 1982 Top-10 hit "Pac-Man Fever." Jerry Buckner of Buckner & Garcia co-produced the song "Wreck-It, Wreck-It Ralph" with hit songwriter/producer Jamie Houston (Steven Tyler, Macy Gray).  

Wreck-It Ralph original motion picture soundtrack track list:

  1. "When Can I See You Again?" Performed by Owl City
  2. "Wreck-It, Wreck-It Ralph" Performed by Buckner & Garcia
  3. "Celebration" Performed by Kool & The Gang
  4. "Sugar Rush" Performed by AKB48
  5. "Bug Hunt (Noisia Remix)" Performed by Skrillex
  6. "Shut Up and Drive" Performed by Rihanna
  7. "Wreck-It Ralph" Score
  8. "Life in the Arcade" Score
  9. "Jumping Ship" Score
  10. "Rocket Fiasco" Score
  11. "Vanellope von Schweetz" Score
  12. "Royal Raceway" Score
  13. "Cupcake Breakout" Score
  14. "Candy Vandals" Score
  15. "Turbo Flashback" Score
  16. "Laffy Taffies" Score
  17. "One Minute to Win It" Score
  18. "Vanellope's Hideout" Score
  19. "Messing with the Program" Score
  20. "King Candy" Score
  21. "Broken-Karted" Score
  22. "Out of the Penthouse, Off to the Race" Score
  23. "Sugar Rush Showdown" Score
  24. "You're My Hero" Score
  25. "Arcade Finale" Score

From Walt Disney Animation Studios and Emmy®-winning director Rich Moore comes "Wreck-It Ralph," a hilarious, arcade-game-hopping adventure. For decades, Ralph (voice of John C. Reilly) has been overshadowed by Fix-It Felix, Jr. (voice of Jack McBrayer), the good-guy star of their game who always gets to save the day. Tired of playing the role of a bad guy, Ralph takes matters into his own massive hands and sets off on a journey across the arcade through multiple generations of video games to prove he's got what it takes to be a hero.

On his quest, Ralph meets tough-as-nails Sergeant Calhoun (voice of Jane Lynch) from the first-person action game Hero's Duty, and feisty misfit Vanellope von Schweetz (voice of Sarah Silverman) from the candy-coated cart racing game, Sugar Rush, who may just be his first real friend. But everything changes when a deadly enemy is unleashed, threatening the entire arcade and Vanellope herself. Ralph finally gets his chance to save the day—but can he do it in time? "Wreck-It Ralph" crashes onto the big screen on Nov. 2, 2012, in Disney Digital 3D™ in select theaters.

The Wreck-It Ralph original motion picture soundtrack will be available wherever music is sold on Oct. 30, 2012.  The album is currently available for pre-order at Amazon.com, http://smarturl.it/wirsAmazona1 and will be available for pre-order at iTunes on Oct. 22, 2012.  For more information on Walt Disney Records' releases, please visit Disney.com/music, become a fan at Facebook.com/disneymusic or follow us at Twitter.com/disneymusic.

SOURCE Walt Disney Records