29 Finalists Identified In 10 Categories For The Inaugral C40 & Siemens City Climate Leadership Awards

Aug 20, 2013, 00:01 ET from C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group

Global Prize Competition Highlights Excellence in Urban Sustainability

NEW YORK and LONDON, Aug. 20, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Siemens and the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) today announced the 29 finalist cities competing in 10 categories for the initial City Climate Leadership Awards. The winners will be named at the Awards presentation event in London, at the Crystal on September 4, 2013.

The finalists identified are:



North America








Los Angeles

Asia & Oceania


New York City



San Francisco

Ho Chi Minh City




South America






Buenos Aires



Mexico City


Rio de Janeiro

São Paulo

Awards categories:

  • Urban Transportation
  • Waste Management
  • Finance & Economic Development
  • Carbon Measurement & Planning
  • Sustainable Communities
  • Green Energy
  • Adaptation & Resilience
  • Energy Efficient Built Environment
  • Air Quality
  • Intelligent City Infrastructure

Details about the Awards event:

The inaugural Awards event is a three-day program to be held in London at the Crystal, a new London landmark and home to Siemens' sustainable cities initiative. The program consists of the Awards Ceremony on September 4, and a conference on September 5 gathering mayors, city planners, and urban sustainability experts to address some of the most pressing climate change and sustainability challenges of the day. In addition, the C40 will also be hosting a workshop with partners of the C40 Measurement & Planning Initiative including Siemens on September 6, bringing together European C40 Cities and technical experts for a workshop session about community-scale inventories and the Global Protocol for Community-scale Greenhouse Gas Emissions (GPC). This workshop is the first of many regional workshops to support local capacity building for measuring GHG emissions at the community scale using the GPC.

About the Awards competition:

The C40 & Siemens City Climate Leadership Awards will be granted annually in ten categories and will provide global recognition for C40 Cities that are demonstrating climate action leadership. Five award categories, including urban transportation, waste management and sustainable communities, are open to C40 Cities only. Five other categories, including resilience, air quality and intelligent city infrastructure, are open both to C40 Cities and the 120 cities in the Siemens and Economist Intelligence Unit research project "Green City Index" (GCI). An independent, seven-member judging panel consisting of former city Mayors, architects and representatives of the World Bank, C40 and Siemens will select the award winners.

For more information on the Awards and the projects of the nominated cities, go to: www.cityclimateleadershipawards.com.

The Siemens Infrastructure & Cities Sector (Munich, Germany), with approximately 90,000 employees, focuses on sustainable technologies for metropolitan areas and their infrastructures. Its offering includes products, systems and solutions for intelligent traffic management, rail-bound transportation, smart grids, power distribution, energy efficient buildings, and safety and security. The Sector comprises the divisions Building Technologies, Low and Medium Voltage, Mobility and Logistics, Rail Systems and Smart Grid. For more information, visit http://www.siemens.com/infrastructure-cities.

The C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group (C40) is a network of large and engaged cities from around the world committed to implementing meaningful and sustainable climate-related actions locally that will help address climate change globally. C40 was established in 2005 and expanded via a partnership in 2006 with President William J. Clinton's Climate Initiative (CCI).  The current chair of the C40 is New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg.  To learn more about the work of C40 and our Cities, please visit http://www.c40.org/.

SOURCE C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group