ACEP Elects New Officers

Oct 20, 2010, 09:42 ET from American College of Emergency Physicians

WASHINGTON, Oct. 20 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) announced the election of new officers to its board of directors during Scientific Assembly earlier this month in Las Vegas, the largest annual gathering of emergency physicians in the country.  Board officers are elected to serve a one-year term.



Chair of the board: Ramon Johnson, MD, FACEP

Dr. Johnson is associate director of the emergency department at Mission Hospital Regional Medical Center in Mission Viejo, Calif. Over the course of his 25-year ACEP membership, Dr. Johnson has served on several ACEP committees, including the bioterrorism task force and as chair of the state legislative/regulatory committee. He currently serves as liaison to the disaster and pediatric emergency medicine committees.

At the state level, Dr. Johnson was past president of ACEP's California chapter. He is a member of the state's joint advisory committee on preparedness which was responsible for developing the state's strategic plan for disaster preparedness and response. He is the past chair and still a member of the California commission on emergency medical services. Dr. Johnson is the co-chair of the EMSC committee and former chairman of the trauma advisory committee, which initiated the process for creating a statewide trauma plan.

Dr. Johnson, a graduate of Stanford University, earned his medical degree from University of Connecticut. He completed residency at UCLA in pediatrics and emergency medicine.

Vice-president: Andrew Sama, MD, FACEP

Dr. Sama, of Manhasset, N.Y., is senior vice president of emergency services for the North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System. He is chairman of the department of emergency medicine at North Shore University Hospital, Manhasset, N.Y., and Long Island Jewish Medical Center, New Hyde Park, N.Y. Dr. Sama is the recipient of the endowed Dorothy and Jack Kupferberg Professorship of Emergency Medicine, and in 2010 he was appointed professor for the Hofstra University School of Medicine.

Dr. Sama has been an ACEP member for more than 20 years and has chaired its bylaws committee. He was elected secretary-treasurer for ACEP's board of directors in 2009.  He is currently a member of ACEP's finance and reimbursement committees.  Dr. Sama received ACEP's New York chapter's Physician of the Year Award in 2006, and served as its president, secretary/treasurer and councilor.

Dr. Sama, a graduate of Columbia University, earned his medical degree from Cornell University Medical College. He completed residency at North Shore University Hospital in 1984 in internal medicine as an assistant chief resident.

Secretary-treasurer: Alexander Rosenau, DO, FACEP

Dr. Rosenau, of Allentown, Pa., is the chair of the Emergency Medicine Foundation. He is also the senior vice chair and an attending physician in the emergency department at Lehigh Valley Hospital and Health Network.  Dr. Rosenau has served as an ACEP councilor, and has also served on ACEP's steering, bylaws and emergency medicine practice committees. 

Dr. Rosenau is a past president of Pennsylvania ACEP, and is the founding program director of the Lehigh Valley Hospital and Health Network emergency medicine residency program.  He is an associate professor of emergency medicine at the University of South Florida in Tampa, Fla..

Dr. Rosenau is a past recipient of U.S. Public Health Service National Health Service Corps achievement and commendation awards. He received his medical degree from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and completed his residency at Botsford General Hospital in Farmington Hills, Mich. 

ACEP is a national medical specialty society representing emergency medicine.  ACEP is committed to advancing emergency care through continuing education, research and public education.  Headquartered in Dallas, Texas, ACEP has 53 chapters representing each state, as well as Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia.  A Government Services Chapter represents emergency physicians employed by military branches and other government agencies.

SOURCE American College of Emergency Physicians