AMA Announces McAlister as the 2014 Distinguished Marketing Educator

Feb 06, 2014, 00:07 ET from American Marketing Association

CHICAGO, Feb. 6, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Marketing Association (AMA) announces Leigh McAlister as the winner of the 2014 AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award.  Professor McAlister is the Ed and Molly Smith Chair in Business Administration and Professor of Marketing in the McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin.  McAlister will be presented with her award at the upcoming AMA Winter Marketing Educators' Conference on Saturday, February 22 in Orlando, FL.


Prior to her appointment at the McCombs School of Business, Professor McAlister taught at The University of Washington and MIT.  She currently serves as Associate Editor for Journal of Marketing and Marketing Science and recently served as Associate Editor for Journal of Marketing Research. 

With more than $1.6 million of industry support for her work, she favors rigorous research that has managerial relevance. Her research has been published in leading journals and has been honored at the highest levels. She won the 2003 O'Dell Award (most significant contribution to theory and practice in the Journal of Marketing Research) and the 2007 and 2011 Davidson Awards (best article in Journal of Retailing). 

The AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award honors living marketing educators for distinguished service and outstanding contributions in marketing education. Recipients must have notable careers with accomplishments across research, teaching and mentoring, public service, creativity and innovation, service to the marketing profession, and administration.  Honorees must be universally acknowledged as a long-standing leader in marketing education, and must have made extensive contributions to marketing education and the marketing discipline in general.

Upon receiving the 30th annual AMA/Irwin/McGraw-Hill Distinguished Marketing Educator Award, McAlister will join marketing luminaries, such as George Day, Paul Green, Philip Kotler, Don Lehmann, Robert Lusch, Jagdish Sheth, and Valarie Zeithaml in being honored with this distinguished industry award.

For more information about the American Marketing Association, visit

Contact: Jason Oleniczak – 312 542 9041 –

SOURCE American Marketing Association