American College of Prosthodontists Announces Its John J. Sharry Research Competition Winners

Nov 05, 2013, 17:18 ET from American College of Prosthodontists

Honors Presented at AS13 Annual Awards & President's Dinner

LAS VEGAS, Nov. 5, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American College of Prosthodontists, through its awards program, formally recognizes individuals whose contributions to the specialty or to the College are outstanding and substantial. These individuals were recognized on Friday, October 11, during the Annual Session 2013 Annual Awards and President's Dinner held in Las Vegas at Caesars Palace. More than 1,200 dental professionals attended, including prosthodontists and dental technicians. The ACP Education Foundation is a proud sponsor of this award.


The ACP is proud to announce the following recipients:

First Place John J. Sharry Research Competition Winner  
Dr. Evanthia Anadioti, D.D.S
3D and 2D Marginal Fit of Pressed and CAD/CAM Lithium Disilicate Crowns Made From Digital and Conventional Impressions
University of Iowa

Second Place John J. Sharry Research Competition Winner  
Dr. Bryan Jacobs, D.D.S., B.S.E.
A Randomized Controlled Trial Evaluating the Efficacy of Grafting the Facial Gap at Immediately Placed Implants in the Anterior Maxilla
University of North Carolina

Third Place John J. Sharry Research Competition Winner  
Dr. Amanda Colebeck, D.D.S.
Microtensile Bond Strength of Different Acrylic Teeth to High-Impact Denture Base Resins
University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine

This competition is held to stimulate and acknowledge original research in prosthodontics by students. The Prosthodontist Research Award was first presented in 1976.  In 1982, following the death of Past President Dr. John J. Sharry, the award was renamed in his honor. Three winners have been recognized each year for the Sharry Research Competition since 1976.

Dr. John Sharry was a founding member of the ACP. He attended Tufts University and the University of Alabama Dental School. He was Assistant Professor and Director of the Office of Learning Resources at the University of Alabama Dental School; Director of the Cleft Palate Program for the State of Alabama and taught at the University of Illinois, University of South Carolina and the University of Texas. Dr. Sharry published numerous articles and books about prosthodontics and was the editor of countless journals.

Prosthodontists are specialized dentists with advanced training in oral health issues, who are committed to improving patient outcomes. From implants, crowns, veneers and tooth whitening, to full-mouth reconstruction, prosthodontists specialize in digital dentistry and CAD/CAM solutions. The ACP is the only prosthodontic specialty organization whose membership is based solely on education credentials. ACP members must be in or have completed an ADA-accredited advanced education program in prosthodontics.

The American College of Prosthodontists is the professional association of dentists with advanced specialty training dedicated to optimal oral health both in function and appearance including dental implants, crowns, veneers, dentures, and teeth whitening. For more information or to find a prosthodontist near you, visit

CONTACT: Carolyn Barth
312.573.1260, ext. 8791

SOURCE American College of Prosthodontists