American Heart Association Names New Officers, Honors Top Volunteers

Jun 23, 2011, 14:22 ET from American Heart Association

DALLAS, June 23, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American Heart Association this week named its new board officers for fiscal year 2011-12, beginning July 1, and also honored several leading volunteers for their work on behalf of the association and the people it serves in the fight against heart disease and stroke.

Retired Chicago attorney William H. Roach Jr., Esq., has been named chairman of the American Heart Association, responsible for the overall administration of business affairs, public relations and fundraising and will preside over meetings of the board of directors and administrative cabinet. Roach is a retired partner with the law firm McDermott, Will & Emery, in Chicago.

As the new president of the American Heart Association, Gordon F. Tomaselli, M.D., will serve as the chief volunteer scientific and medical officer responsible for medical, scientific and public health matters. Tomaselli is professor and director of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine's Division of Cardiology.

Full news releases announcing the appointments of Roach and Tomaselli, as well as other new board officers, can be accessed at:

The American Heart Association presented its 2011 Gold Heart Award to Indianapolis attorney Andrew B. Buroker, Esq., and Rochester (Minn.) cardiologist Raymond J. Gibbons, M.D. The award is the highest honor the association gives to volunteers who have provided continued, distinguished service.  

A full news release with more information on the Gold Heart Award recipients can be accessed at:

A number of other prestigious awards were presented at the association's annual awards luncheon on June 22. The Award of Meritorious Achievement was presented to Michael A. Bettmann, M.D., FAHA; Lori Mosca, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., FAHA; J. V. (Ian) Nixon, M.D., FAHA; and Kathryn A. Taubert, Ph.D., FAHA. The award recognizes individuals for a specific significant accomplishment or project that affects the association at a national level.

The Louis B. Russell, Jr. Memorial Award was presented to Jennifer H. Mieres, M.D., FAHA. The award recognizes an individual who has rendered outstanding service to minority and underserved populations.

The Healthcare Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Lynne T. Braun, Ph.D., CNP, FAHA. The award recognizes an individual who has rendered outstanding contributions to or achievements in cardiovascular disease and/or stroke patient care or improvements in the quality of healthcare delivery.

The Physician of the Year Award was presented to Willie Edward Lawrence, Jr., M.D. The award is presented annually to a practicing physician who has rendered outstanding contributions to the accomplishment of the AHA's mission to build healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.

A full news release with more information on each of the award winners can be accessed at:

Downloadable images of officers and award recipients are available at

CORP11-1007 (AHA-VolAwards2011)

About the American Heart Association

The American Heart Association is the nation's oldest and largest voluntary health organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. Our mission is to build healthier lives by preventing, treating and defeating these diseases – two of America's leading killers. We fund cutting-edge research, conduct lifesaving public and professional educational programs, and advocate to protect public health. To learn more or join us in helping all Americans, call 1-800-AHA-USA1 or visit

Carrie Thacker – (214) 706-1665;

SOURCE American Heart Association