Carnegie Hero Fund Commission Cites 20 for Extraordinary Civilian Heroism

Dec 20, 2013, 08:00 ET from Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

PITTSBURGH, Dec. 20, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --  In its fourth and final award announcement of 2013, the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission today named 20 individuals as recipients of the Carnegie Medal.  The medal is given throughout the United States and Canada to those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or attempting to save the lives of others.  One of the awardees, James Russell Jenkins of Columbus, Ohio, died in the performance of his act, by which he attempted to save a 5-year-old boy from drowning in a pond at an apartment complex.  The boy broke through ice covering the pond, and Jenkins broke through in his rescue attempt.

The heroes announced today bring to 77 the number of awards made in 2013 and to 9,653 the total number since the Pittsburgh-based Fund's inception in 1904.  Commission President Mark Laskow stated that each of the awardees or their survivors will also receive a financial grant.  Throughout the 109 years since the Fund was established by industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, more than $35.6 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance.  The awardees are:

                                   John Bigwood                                  

   Fair Oaks, Calif.

                                   Alec Justin Smith                             

   San Jose, Calif.

                                   Alfredo Serrano                                

   Bridgeport, Conn.

                                   Dennis M. Shaw                              

   Bridgeport, Conn.

                                   Richard Brian Andrade                     

   Colorado Springs, Colo.

                                   Joshua H. Meltzer                            

   Bowling Green, Ky.

                                   Nathaniel Bacon                               

   New Hampton, N.Y.

                                   Robert P. Davies                              

   Golden Valley, Ariz.

                                   Keith Knight                                    

   Hooksett, N.H.

                                   Scott Frye                                       

   Concord, N.H.

                                   William Michael Browne                   

   Wrightwood, Calif.

                                   Jesse C. Garcia IV                           

   Adkins, Texas

                                   James Russell Jenkins, deceased    

   Columbus, Ohio

                                   Scott E. Teuscher                            

   Roseville, Calif.

                                   Jason R. Ivey                                   

   Brookline, Mass.

                                   Philip D. Petr                                   

   Blue Hill, Neb.

                                   Michael T. McDonnell                       

   Rockaway Park, N.Y.

                                   Dylan Patrick Smith, now deceased   

   Rockaway Beach, N.Y.

                                   Vincent Lorenzo Meraz                     

   Escondido, Calif.

                                   Katherine Lee Osiecki                      

   East Hampton, N.Y. 

Resumes of the acts can be found at  Fuller information on the CARNEGIE MEDAL and the history of the CARNEGIE HERO FUND COMMISSION can be found at                                                                                                         

Contact:  Douglas R. Chambers  
Toll free:  1-800-447-8900

SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission