Charlize Theron Presents Distinguished Critics' Choice LOUIS XIII® Genius Award To Seth MacFarlane

LOUIS XIII cognac & Broadcast Television Journalists Association Celebrate Television Series Creator and Producer of Pop Culture Phenomenon Family Guy, American Dad!, and Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey at the 5th Annual Critics' Choice Television Awards

May 31, 2015, 23:46 ET from LOUIS XIII

LOS ANGELES, May 31, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- LOUIS XIII Cognac and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) today bestowed the 2nd annual "Critics' Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award" to American television series creator, producer, director, actor, animator, and song writer, Seth MacFarlane at the 5th annual Critics' Choice Television Awards ceremony. Presented by Academy Award winning actress Charlize Theron, who has co-starred opposite MacFarlane in A Million Ways to Die in the West, MacFarlane received the esteemed honor for demonstrating unprecedented excellence in the television arts. LOUIS XIII Cognac is celebrated globally for its commitment to artistry and distinctive expertise, as each decanter takes four generations of cellar masters over 100 years to craft.  This is the result of the mastery of time and LOUIS XIII is committed to recognizing this genius and legacy in other creative areas.

Two-time Emmy Award winner, Academy Award nominee and three-time Grammy Award nominee Seth MacFarlane, is a true triple threat.  When his award-winning series Family Guy launched in 1999 on FOX, Creator/Executive Producer, Writer and Voice Talent MacFarlane was only 24, making him television's youngest executive producer ever to be given his own primetime network show.  MacFarlane's other major television credits include long-running series American Dad! (FOX/TBS), Family Guy spin-off The Cleveland Show (FOX) and the CCTA and Emmy Award-winning series Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey, which he co-produced alongside Ann Druyan.  Beyond TV, MacFarlane made cinematic history with his directorial debut, the 2012 hit Ted, currently the highest-grossing original R-rated comedy of all time.  Upcoming projects include the live action comedy Blunt Talk, premiering August 22 on Starz and the satirical animated series Bordertown for FOX.

"Whether he's in the writer's room, behind the camera or in the recording studio, Seth MacFarlane has become one of Hollywood's most beloved comedic talents," said BTJA President Joey Berlin.  "At only 41, his work has been a fixture on our screens – both large and small – for almost two decades.  His humor and talent is undeniable, and we're honored to present him with the Critics' Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award."

"We are thrilled to partner with the Broadcast Television Journalists Association to present the Critics' Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award for the second time," said Ludovic du Plessis, Global Executive Director, LOUIS XIII. "Mr. MacFarlane's multi-faceted talent and cultural relevance has stood the test of time and deserves to be recognized." 

The Critics' Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award also honors unprecedented excellence in the cinematic arts in partnership with the Broadcast Film Critics Association at the annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards.

For more information on LOUIS XIII please visit -  

About LOUIS XIII de Remy Martin : One Century in a decanter

LOUIS XIII cognac was created in 1874. Each decanter takes 4 generations of cellar masters over 100 years to craft. Its grapes grow in the chalky soils of Grande Champagne, the most sought-after area of the Cognac region, in France.

It is an intricate alchemy blend of up to 1200 eauxdevie, the youngest of which is at least 40 years old. LOUIS XIII cognac is therefore the ultimate expression of the mastery of time. The unique blend evokes tasting notes and scents of myrrh, honey, immortelle, plum, honeysuckle, wood bark, leather and passion fruits. For more information, visit:

About BTJA

The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) is a partner organization to the Broadcast Film Critics Association.  BTJA includes TV, radio and internet journalists who cover television on a regular basis.  For more information, visit:

Photo -
Photo -