Community Oncology Alliance Elects New Officers and Board Members for 2016

Jan 11, 2016, 10:01 ET from Community Oncology Alliance

WASHINGTON, Jan. 11, 2016 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Community Oncology Alliance (COA), a non-profit organization dedicated to advocating for community oncology practices and the patients they serve, announced the election of a new Board of Directors and Executive Committee officers.

"2016 is primed to be an important year for community oncology. We anticipate significant progress on payment reform initiatives such as the Oncology Medical Home (OMH) and ongoing examinations of the 340B drug program and more," said Bruce Gould, MD, president of COA and a practicing oncologist with the Northwest Georgia Oncology Centers in Marietta, Ga. "COA is strengthened by the very active involvement of its volunteer Board and Executive team.  We welcome the new and continuing Board members. Their participation ensures that COA will continue in its strivings for the betterment of community cancer care."

COA is a non-profit, 501.c.6 organization that is controlled by community oncologists. COA has an Executive Committee of Officers that reports to a Board of Directors, comprised of volunteer representatives from community oncology, who direct the management of COA by its Executive Director.

The complete list of Officers and Board members can be viewed at

COA Board of Directors Elections:

The following individuals were elected to serve another term on the COA Board of Directors:

  • Henry "Mac" Barnes, MD
  • Marsha DeVita
  • Michael Diaz, MD
  • David Eagle, MD
  • Robert Green, MD
  • Dinesh Kapur, MD
  • Joseph Lynch, MD
  • Barbara McAneny, MD
  • Carol Murtaugh
  • Mark Thompson, MD

The following individuals were elected to serve a first-time term on the COA Board of Directors:

  • Bruce Burns, MD (GA)
  • Jose DaVila, MD (PR)
  • Deborah Patt, MD (TX)
  • Jeffrey Patton, MD (TN)

As per the COA by-laws, all Director positions are 3-year terms terminating on December 31, 2018.

Two current Board members whose terms expire in 2015 will rotate off of the Board:

  • Abraham Mittleman, MD
  • Hamidreza Sanatinia, MD

The COA board would like to express it's sincere thank to both Drs. Mittleman and Sanatinia for their time and service to community oncology.  Their active involvement in COA is greatly appreciated.

COA Executive Committee Officer Elections:
The following individuals were elected to serve as officers of COA and on the Executive Committee:

  • Bruce Gould, MD (President)
  • Jeff Vacirca, MD (Vice President)
  • Mike Diaz, MD (Secretary)
  • Ricky Newton (Treasurer; ex officio)
  • Mark Thompson, MD (Immediate Past President)
  • Dave Eagle, MD (Past President)
  • Henry "Mac" Barnes, MD (Past President)
  • Miriam Atkins, MD (Officer-at-Large)
  • Ted Okon (Executive Director; ex officio)

As per the COA by-laws, all officer positions are one-year terms terminating on December 31, 2016. As full-time employees of COA, Messrs. Okon and Newton serve as non-voting members on the Executive Committee.

About the Community Oncology Alliance
The Community Oncology Alliance (COA), a non-profit organization, is the leader in advocating for patients and their providers in the community cancer care setting, where almost 70 percent of Americans with cancer are treated. The mission of COA is to strive that cancer patients receive quality, affordable, and accessible cancer care, which is physician directed, in their own communities. COA has pioneered policy on the Oncology Medical Home (OMH) and payment reform for cancer care, coordinates active networks of patient advocates (CPAN), practice administrators (CAN), and pharmacy personnel (COPA) dedicated to enhancing community cancer care. To learn more visit




SOURCE Community Oncology Alliance