CompTIA Announces Board of Directors for 2013-14

Apr 30, 2013, 09:45 ET from CompTIA

DOWNERS GROVE, Ill., April 30, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- CompTIA, the non-profit association for the information technology (IT) industry, today announced the members of its Board of Directors for 2013-14.


The new board, which includes a new chairman and five new directors, takes office on May 1.

MJ Shoer, president and virtual chief technology officer of Jenaly Technology Group, Inc., is chairman of CompTIA's Board of Directors for 2013-14. An active member of the association for more than a decade, Shoer served a previous term as a CompTIA director and board secretary and has held numerous other membership leadership positions in the association.

"The pace of innovation continues unabated, changing the way we live, work and interact," Shoer said. "This presents the IT industry with both great opportunities and great challenges. I'm confident that our board, in cooperation with CompTIA's executive team, will address these challenges head-on and chart a course that elevates the industry to even greater heights."     

"MJ Shoer has filled many roles in the IT channel with distinction – small business owner, technology entrepreneur, industry advocate and compassionate philanthropist," said Todd Thibodeaux, president and chief executive officer, CompTIA. "His commitment to our industry is unparalleled and his leadership as chairman will be invaluable."

For the second consecutive year Bob Stegner, senior vice president, marketing, SYNNEX Corporation, is vice chairman. Stegner has more than 23 years of management, marketing and sales experience in the IT channel.

Mike Brogan, president and chief executive officer, Erb's Technology Solutions, chairs the board's Audit Committee. Brogan's career with Erb's dates to 1978 and he has held a number of sales and executive positions with the company.

Newly elected to the CompTIA Board of Directors are:

  • Amy Kardel, co-owner and chief operating officer, Clever Ducks, the founder of two technology start-ups and with 20 years of industry experience.
  • Quy "Q" Nguyen, founder and chief executive officer, Allyance Communications, Inc.,a company now in its 11th year in business.
  • Mont Phelps, president and chief executive officer, NWN Corporation, a senior executive and serial entrepreneur in the IT industry.
  • Aaron Woods, director, North American Resellers Service Relationship and Partner Programs, Xerox Corp., who has served in a wide range of management roles in the IT services arena for more than 25 years. 

Continuing on the board as immediate past chair is Bob Godgart, founder and chief executive officer of ChannelEyes LLC, and founder and former chief executive officer of Autotask Corporation. Godgart served two years as chairman of the CompTIA board.

Also returning to the board in 2013 are Don Bentz, co-founder, Preferred IT Group, LLC; Paul Cronin, senior vice president, Atrion Networking Corporation, Inc.; Janet Schijns, vice president, business solution, Verizon Wireless; Frank Vitagliano, vice president, channel sales, Dell; and Dan Wensley, vice president, partner development and marketing, Level Platforms, Inc.

For more information on CompTIA visit, and