Emergency Nurses Association 2012 National Election Results

Jun 15, 2012, 16:11 ET from Emergency Nurses Association

DES PLAINES, Ill., June 15, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The newly elected leaders of the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA), a non-profit professional organization of more than 40,000 members worldwide, represent the expertise of the nation's top emergency care professionals dedicated to advocacy for patient safety and excellence in emergency nursing practice.

Elected Board of Directors

The ENA board of directors provides overall direction for the premier emergency nursing association. ENA serves the health care community by developing, promoting and disseminating education and practice standards and guidelines, and works in partnership with other health care entities to promote an understanding of emergency nurses and their practice.

2013 ENA President-elect (will serve as the 2014 ENA President)
Deena Brecher, MSN, RN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CEN, CPEN
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Emergency Department, Nemours/ A.I. DuPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, Delaware

2013 ENA Secretary/Treasurer
Matthew F. Powers, MS, BSN, RN, MICP, CEN
Assistant Manager, Emergency Department, Kaiser Permanente
Pleasant Hill, California

Directors (three-year terms: January 1, 2013December 31, 2015)
Ellen (Ellie) H. Encapera, RN, CEN
Aiken, South Carolina

Sally K. Snow, BSN, RN, CPEN, FAEN
Trauma Program Director, Cook Children's Medical Center
Fort Worth, Texas

Staff Nurse, Department Educator, St. Joseph's Hospital
Apple Valley, Minnesota

Newly elected board member terms begin January 1, 2013.

Elected Nominations Committee Members

The Nominations Committee ensures that ENA's annual national election is conducted in a fair and equitable manner according to established bylaws, policies and procedures. The Nominations Committee investigates methods for promoting voter interest, visibility of candidates, the exchange of information, and participation in the election process.

Region 1 - Louise Hummel, MSN, RN, CNS, CEN
Lecture and Clinical Faculty, School of Nursing, California State University
San Diego, California

Region 3 - Terry M. Foster, MSN, RN, CEN, CCRN, FAEN
Critical-Care Nurse Specialist, Emergency Department, St. Elizabeth's Medical Center
Taylor Mill, Kentucky

Region 5 – Lucinda W. Rossoll, MSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, CCRN
Registered Nurse, Emergency Department, Alice Peck Day Memorial Hospital
Lebanon, New Hampshire

All newly elected Nominations Committee member terms begin September 2012.

To find out more about each of ENA's newly elected officials visit http://www.ena.org/about/elections/Meet/2012Candidates/Pages/2012Results.aspx

About the Emergency Nurses Association:
ENA is the only professional nursing association dedicated to defining the future of emergency nursing and emergency care through advocacy, expertise, innovation and leadership. Founded in 1970, ENA develops and disseminates education and practice standards and guidelines, and affords consultation to both private and public entities regarding emergency nurses and their practice. Additional information is available at ENA's Web site www.ena.org.

SOURCE Emergency Nurses Association