Erasmus Prize 2013 Awarded to Jürgen Habermas

Jan 28, 2013, 02:00 ET from Praemium Erasmianum Foundation

AMSTERDAM, January 28, 2013 /PRNewswire/ --

The Praemium Erasmianum Foundation has awarded the Erasmus Prize 2013 to the German scholar Jürgen Habermas (1929). The theme of the Erasmus Prize this year is 'the future of democracy'. For over 50 years, Jürgen Habermas has been one of the leading thinkers in the fields of sociology, philosophy and politics. Central in his thinking is democracy and the commitment of the citizens. He is sharp and critical in his political analysis, but at the same time optimistic about the future of a democratic Europe. He beliefs in the debate, in ratio as the source of politics and in the equality of man.

     (Photo: )

With his humanistic views and commitment to the future of Europe he embodies the Erasmian values the Praemium Erasmianum Foundation holds so dear.

Jürgen Habermas is author of a vast body of work, in which he emphasizes the importance of dialogue, democracy and human dignity. Among his most important books are 'Zur Strukturwandel der Oeffentlichkeit'(1962) and 'Theorie des kommunikativen Handelns' (1981). The present political and financial-economic crisis and the destiny of Europe are subject of his recent essay 'Zur Verfassung Europas' (2011).

The Erasmus Prize is an annual award for a person who has made an exceptional contribution to culture, society or social science. The prize money is a sum of Euro 150.000.

The award ceremony will take place in the autumn of 2013 on a date to be announced.

SOURCE Praemium Erasmianum Foundation