Fans get to help decide who will be the next C Spire Conerly Trophy winner honoring Mississippi's top college football player of the year

For third year in a row, fans will influence 10 percent of the award total; sparking renewed excitement, interest and engagement with their favorite players and schools

Nov 24, 2015, 12:29 ET from C Spire

JACKSON, Miss., Nov. 24, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- With three of Mississippi's top college football teams already recording their best won-loss record at this time of the season since 1999, fan interest is at an all-time high for the C Spire Conerly Trophy, which annually honors the top player in the Magnolia state.

While Mississippi State, Ole Miss, Southern Miss and seven other teams will determine their ultimate fate on the gridiron as the season winds down, college football fans will help influence who gets the best player honors.  For the third time in the award's 20-year history, fan voting will count for 10 percent of the 2015 Conerly Trophy and a panel of statewide sports media will make up the remaining 90 percent.

"We want fans to take part in identifying Mississippi's best college football player, especially with so many teams having outstanding seasons," said Rick Cleveland, executive director of the MSHOF and co-sponsor of the award along with C Spire. "Major League baseball and other sports have used fan voting for years. We think involving fans will help sustain interest in an award that's an integral part of the college football scene."

More background information

About C Spire
C Spire is a diversified telecommunications and technology services company that provides world-class customer-inspired service and a superior comprehensive suite of customer-inspired wireless communications, high-speed Internet access and a range of other telecommunications products and services to consumers and businesses.  This news release and other announcements are available at For more information about C Spire, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at

Photo -
Logo -