George Strait - Icon


Oct 17, 2011, 09:00 ET from Universal Music Enterprises

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 17, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- With a career spanning more than three decades, the Grammy®, CMA and ACM award-winning country music star George Strait has earned the most number one singles of any artist in history including Elvis (57 to date inclusive of all charts). He was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2006, has sold nearly 69 million records and, with 33 different platinum or multi-platinum albums, has the most RIAA platinum certifications in country music and the third in all genres, behind the Beatles and Elvis Presley—making him a true country icon.

On November 8, 2011, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) releases George Strait – Icon 2, a 22-song, double-disc collection packed with No. 1 hits and signature tracks in honor of one of today's most successful and beloved country artists. George Strait – Icon 1,  an 11-song, single-disc collection, was released in September and quickly became his best-selling catalog title.

The first disc of Icon 2 includes 10 of his No.1 hits from the '80s and '90s, including "All My Ex's Live In Texas," "Ocean Front Property," "Ace In The Hole," "Love Without End, Amen," and "Check Yes Or No."  Disc 2  of the set contains 10 additional No.1 hits from the '90s to 2008 as George Strait continued to dominate the charts with "Carrying Your Love With Me," "I Just Want To Dance With You," "Write This Down," "The Best Day," "I Hate Everything," "Give It Away" and "I Saw God Today."

George Strait – Icon 2   pays tribute to one of the most popular and influential country singers of the last three decades.  Icon 2 is part of a specially priced series of albums featuring the greatest hits, signature tunes and fan favorites of the most popular and influential artists in music history, offering unprecedented value to consumers.

George Strait debuted on the country music scene in the early '80s with a sound that stayed true to its traditional roots, combining Western swing and honky-tonk, while adding his own unique style. The superstar continues his phenomenal career with the release of his 39th studio album, Here For A Good Time, which recently debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Country Album Chart.




1. Amarillo By Morning

1. Carried Away

2. Right Or Wrong

2. One Night At A Time

3. The Chair

3. Carrying Your Love With Me

4. Ocean Front Property

4. I Just Want To Dance With You

5. All My Ex's Live In Texas

5. Write This Down

6. If You Ain't Lovin' (You Ain't Livin')

6. The Best Day

7. Ace In The Hole

7. Living And Living Well

8. Love Without End, Amen

8. I Hate Everything

9. I Cross My Heart

9. Give It Away

10. Easy Come, Easy Go

10. I Saw God Today

11. Check Yes Or No

11. River Of Love

SOURCE Universal Music Enterprises