Hayden Fry To Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Aug 29, 2011, 11:10 ET from American Heart Association

American Heart Association Honors Legendary Iowa Football Coach at 26th Annual Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards Ceremony on Jan. 19, 2012

HOUSTON, Aug. 29, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- American Heart Association announced today former Iowa coach and 10th all time winningest coach in Division I football history Hayden Fry will be named recipient of the 2012 Paul "Bear" Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award.

(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110829/DC58988 )

Fry's extraordinary life and contributions to college football will be acknowledged at the Marathon Oil Corporation Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards dinner on Thursday, Jan. 19, 2012 in Houston, Texas. The annual awards program recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Paul "Bear" Bryant.  Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Lou Holtz, Barry Switzer, Glenn "Bo" Schembechler, and Bobby Bowden.  

Fry coached for 36 years with his longest and most successful tenure coming with the Iowa Hawkeyes. In 20 years, Fry led Iowa to over 140 victories, three Rose Bowl appearances, three Big Ten titles, and 14 bowl games. He is credited for transforming a longtime losing program into a perennial contender. He also played a major role in the integration of college football. While at Southern Methodist University, Fry made Jerry LeVias the first African American to sign a football scholarship in the Southwest Conference. Fry also coached at the University of North Texas, compiling a 40-23-3 record in six seasons.

Fry retired in 1998 and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2003. Even after his retirement, Fry's fingerprints remain on college football. There are numerous current Division I head coaches that got their start under Fry's tutelage at Iowa, including Bob and Mike Stoops, Bret Bielema, Jim Leavitt, Bo Pelini, and current Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz.

The Marathon Oil Corporation Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke.  Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the Association. For more information on the Bryant Awards, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, visit www.bryantawards.com or call 713-610-5000.

About American Heart Association
The American Heart Association is the nation's oldest and largest voluntary health organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. Our mission is to build healthier lives by preventing, treating and defeating these diseases – America's No. 1 and No. 4 killers. We fund cutting-edge research, conduct lifesaving public and professional educational programs, and advocate to protect public health. To learn more or join us in helping all Americans, call 1-800-AHA-USA1 or visit www.heart.org.

About Marathon Oil Corporation
Marathon Oil Corporation is an international energy company engaged in exploration and production, oil sands mining and integrated gas. At the end of 2010, Marathon Oil had net proved reserves of more than 1.6 billion barrels. Based in Houston, Texas, the Company has proved reserves in North America, the North Sea and Africa. For more information, visit the Company's website at http://www.marathonoil.com.

Media Contact:
Shelly White Millwee
American Heart Association
713-610-5041 or shelly.millwee@heart.org

SOURCE American Heart Association