James McMahon wins 2015 C Spire Ferriss Trophy as Magnolia state's top college baseball player

Southern Miss pitcher tops four other finalists from Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Jackson State and Millsaps College for honor

May 18, 2015, 16:03 ET from C Spire

JACKSON, Miss., May 18, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Southern Miss pitcher James McMahon, a finalist for National College Pitcher of the Year, won the 2015 C Spire Ferriss Trophy Monday as the top college baseball player in Mississippi this season.

McMahon, a 6-foot, 1-inch senior right-hander from Oak Grove, had one of the best overall seasons in school history.  Heading into this week's Conference USA tournament, McMahon is 11-1 with a 1.72 earned run average (ERA), finishing the regular season with 55 strike outs, 21 walks and an opponents' batting average of .203. Southern Miss won 13 of the 14 games he started this year.

The players and coaches were honored at a special luncheon co-hosted by C Spire and the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.  McMahon beat out four other finalists, including Mississippi State first baseman Wes Rea, Jackson State infielder Melvin Rodriguez, Millsaps pitcher-infielder Keith Shumaker and Ole Miss pitcher Scott Weathersby, who was McMahon's teammate when they played high school baseball together at Oak Grove.

More background information

About C Spire
C Spire is a diversified telecommunications and technology services company that provides world-class, customer-inspired wireless communications, 1 Gigabit consumer Internet access as well as a full suite of dedicated Internet, wireless, IP Voice, data and cloud services for businesses.  This news release and other announcements are available at www.cspire.com/news. For more information about C Spire, visit www.cspire.com or follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/cspire or Twitter at www.twitter.com/cspire.

Photo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20150518/216835 
Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20150428/212389LOGO