Library Foundation opens nominations for 2014 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award

Public invited to nominate authors Feb. 3 - March 21

Jan 31, 2014, 08:51 ET from Indianapolis Public Library Foundation

INDIANAPOLIS, Jan. 31, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The call for nominations for the 2014 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award opens on Feb. 3 and extends through March 21, 2014. The Award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation and recognizes the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation.


Any published writer who was born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at least five consecutive years is eligible for nomination. A nine-member, statewide award panel will select winners in three categories from the publicly nominated authors:

  • National Author - $10,000 prize: A writer with Indiana ties, but whose work is known and read throughout the country. National authors will be evaluated on their entire body of work.
  • Regional Author - $7,500 prize: A writer who is well-known and respected throughout the state of Indiana. Regional authors will be evaluated on their entire body of work.
  • Emerging Author - $5,000 prize: A writer who has published no more than two books during his/her lifetime. The title(s) must have been published within the last 10 years.  Emerging authors will be evaluated on these specific works.

In addition to a cash prize, each author's Indiana hometown public library will receive a grant of $2,500 from the Library Foundation.

Nomination forms are available until March 21 at The nomination process is quick, easy and free of charge. Complete information and eligibility guidelines are included on the nomination forms. Authors previously nominated in the past five years will be considered again for the 2014 Award. To provide additional comments for a previously nominated author, email

In October, The Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation, announced that it was renewing funding support for the Indiana Authors Award for the next five years. "We are so pleased to continue these awards that bring recognition to the talented authors (and future authors) in our state," said Marianne Glick, an advisor to The Glick Fund and board chair for the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation.

The goal of the Award is to elevate the written arts in Indiana, inspiring Hoosiers' love of reading and drawing greater attention to "home-grown" literary greats. The award celebrates authors whose quality work has made, or has the potential to make, a lasting public impact.

The Indiana Authors Award invites involvement beginning with the nomination process and continues throughout the year with outreach to organizations serving readers and writers and an interactive website, culminating with a day of free public programs and a ticketed Award Dinner on Oct. 25, 2014, at the Central Library in Indianapolis.

Last year's award dinner raised nearly $78,500 for the Library Foundation. At the dinner, Michael Martone was presented with the National Author award, while James H. Madison received the Regional Author award and Mike Mullin received the Emerging Author award. These authors, as well as their hometown Indiana libraries, each received grants ranging from $2,500 to $10,000.

To submit a 2014 nomination or to learn more, contact The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit

SOURCE Indianapolis Public Library Foundation