Madison County and Fredericksburg City High Schools Are "Teen Driver Safety Video Contest" Winners

May 22, 2013, 11:00 ET from American Traffic Safety Services Association (ATSSA)

FREDERICKSBURG, Va., May 22, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Earlier this year, the American Traffic Safety Services (ATSS) Foundation launched a pilot teen driver safety video contest in five Virginia high schools. Students were challenged to produce a 30-60 second video to highlight the dangers associated with distracted driving, exceeding speed limits and a variety of other bad driving habits. 

The ATSS Foundation's mission is to promote roadway safety through charitable giving and public safety programs. The video contest was funded by State Farm®.

The winners of the contest were:

1st Place ($1,000Madison Lambrich, Summer Davis and Emily Butterworth – Madison County High School (Madison).

2nd Place ($750)  Brad Davis, Sarah Miller and Matthew ForjanJames Monroe High School (Fredericksburg).

3rd Place ($500) Kaley Aylor, Grace Estes, and Vanessa Long – Madison County High School (Madison).

Prizes for the students will be awarded at the American Traffic Safety Services Association's headquarters in Fredericksburg on May 29.

In addition to the student cash prizes, $500 will be sent to each of the winning teams' schools.

"Roadway crashes are a major factor in the deaths of young adults every year," said ATSS Foundation Director Melanie McKee. "We thank State Farm® for making this contest possible through the ATSS Foundation. We believe the contest helped raise roadway safety awareness for all the students who participated."

State Farm supported the pilot program with a Good Neighbor Citizenship® Grant to increase teen driver safety.

"The students put their all into these videos," said State Farm Agent Billy Hale. "I have watched them take their ideas and turn them into something that is motivational and hopefully touches their peers. I congratulate our students for their achievement."

Other schools participating in the contest were Booker T. Washington High School (Norfolk), J.R. Tucker High School (Henrico (Madison) and Gar-Field High School (Woodbridge).

Videos may be viewed here:

Contact: James Baron (540) 368-1701, ext. 113

SOURCE American Traffic Safety Services Association (ATSSA)