Mike Medavoy, Ryan Coogler, Garrett Brown, And Gabrielle Tana To Be Honored At The 18th Annual Satellite™ Awards

A Gala Evening of Celebration that Mixes Old Hollywood with New

Feb 18, 2014, 09:08 ET from International Press Academy

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 18, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The International Press Academy (IPA) today announced its Special Achievement honorees for the 18th Annual Satellite™ Awards. The IPA will also celebrate the distinguished artistic achievements of its nominees in 38 categories at a ceremony on February 23, 2014 at the InterContinental Hotel in Century City, California.

Motion picture producer and studio executive Mike Medavoy will receive the Mary Pickford Award in recognition for his outstanding contribution to the entertainment industry. During his illustrious career, spanning more than 40 years, Medavoy has been involved with more than 300 films, including multiple Academy Award® winning films such as "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest," "Apocalypse Now," "Rocky," "Annie Hall," "Raging Bull," "Platoon," "Amadeus," "Dances with Wolves," "The Silence of the Lambs," "Philadelphia," "The Thin Red Line," and "Black Swan."

Garrett Brown, legendary inventor of the Steadicam, will receive the Tesla Award for his visionary achievements in filmmaking technology. An Academy Award® winning cinematographer, Brown's camera artistry has appeared in nearly a hundred films such as "Bound for Glory," which won an Oscar® for Best Cinematography; "Rocky," and Stanley Kubrick's chilling masterpiece, "The Shining." Whereby, Brown utilized his Steadicam to capture two of cinemas most indelible and iconic scenes, Rocky running up the stairs of the Philadelphia Museum of Art, and Danny pedaling his Big Wheel tricycle through the corridors of the Overlook Hotel.

Ryan Coogler will receive an Honorary Satellite Award for his critically acclaimed directorial debut, "Fruitvale Station," and Gabrielle Tana will receive the Independent Producer of the Year Award for her award-winning and Oscar® nominated films "Philomena" and "The Invisible Woman."

Other honorees include, "Nebraska," Motion Picture, Ensemble Award; "Orange is the New Black," Television, Ensemble Award, Michael B. Jordan, Breakthrough Performance Award, and Sophie Nelisse, Breakthrough Performance Award.

Confirmed Guests (partial list): Hal Sparks (Emcee), Steve Coogan ("Philomena"), Vince Gilligan (producer, "Breaking Bad"), Dabney Coleman ("Boardwalk Empire"), Dennis Haysbert ("24"), Taryn Manning ("Orange is the New Black"), Fionnula Flanagan ("Waking Ned Devine"), John Savage ("The Deer Hunter"), Sean Beavan & Juliette Beavan (8mm – recording artists), George Lazenby (James Bond, "On Her Majesty's Secret Service"), Michael O'Neill ("Dallas Buyers Club"), Max Ryan ("Sex and the City 2"), Victoria Burrows (casting director, "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug,"), Angela McEwan ("Nebraska"), Bo Roberts ("300: Rise of an Empire"), Brett Dalton ("Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D."), Devin Ratray ("Nebraska"), Jeff King (executive producer, "White Collar"), Alejandro Nones ("Corona y Lagrimas"), Steven Price (composer, "Gravity"), Keith Stanfield ("Short Term 12"), TJ Scott (director, "Orphan Black").

"12 Years a Slave" leads the film nominees with ten nominations, followed by "American Hustle" and "Gravity" tied with eight. "Breaking Bad," "House of Cards," and "Orange is the New Black" top the television nominations with four apiece.

We are honored to pay tribute to these great artists and their incredible work that we have enjoyed on screens of all sizes," says IPA President, Mirjana Van Blaricom.

About the International Press Academy
The International Press Academy (IPA) is a global association of professional entertainment journalists representing a multitude of print, broadcast, and digital media outlets. FEDEORA, The Federation of European and Mediterranean Film Critics, joined the IPA in 2011, extending the IPA's membership of foreign and domestic correspondents, whose markets reach millions worldwide via print, television, radio, and the internet.

Event Sponsors~

Entertainment Managers, LLC
Beverly Hills.

Oliver Tolentino Couture
Co-host Kendra Munger's gown and emcee Hal Sparks' tuxedo provided by Hollywood fashion designer Oliver Tolentino (www.OliverTolentino.com).

DOMA Restaurant
Beverly Hills (www.domabh.com).

Lorimar Vineyards and Winery
This Tuscan style winery, with handcrafted award-winning wines and breathtaking views, is surrounded by fragrant orange groves and 22 acres of lush estate vines (www.lorimarwinery.com).

SOURCE International Press Academy