Morgan Wootten Names McDonald's All American Players Of The Year

2014 High School Standouts, Jahlil Okafor and Ariel Atkins Honored for Outstanding Achievements on Basketball Court, in Community

Mar 25, 2014, 15:35 ET from McDonald's

OAK BROOK, Ill., March 25, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The McDonald's All American Games and Morgan Wootten, Hall of Fame coach and Selection Committee Chair, announced Jahlil Okafor and Ariel Atkins as winners of the 2014 Morgan Wootten Player of the Year Award today during a press event in Chicago, Ill. for their accomplishments on and off the court.

The 7-0, 270 lb. Okafor stars at Whitney Young Magnet High School in Chicago, Ill. and is the second straight Chicagoan to win the male Morgan Wootten Award following Jabari Parker's win in 2013. He is the 18th winner of the annual award, joining the likes of previous winners Harrison Barnes (2010), Greg Monroe (2009), Kevin Love (2007), Dwight Howard (2004), LeBron James (2003), Jay Williams (1999) and the award's first recipient, Shane Battier (1997). Okafor beat out finalists: Cliff Alexander (Curie Metro High School – Chicago, Ill.), Stanley Johnson (Mater Dei High School – Fullerton, Calif.), Tyus Jones (Apple Valley High School  – Apple Valley, Minn.), Emmanuel Mudiay (Prime Prep Academy – Dallas, Texas) and Myles Turner (Trinity High SchoolBedford, Texas).

Atkins is a six-foot standout from Duncanville High School in Duncanville, Texas. She is the third girls player from Texas to earn the award – the most since the female award's inception in 2002.  Atkins is the 13th annual female winner, joining Taya Reimer (2013), Breanna Stewart (2012), Elena Delle Donne (2008), Maya Moore (2007), Tina Charles (2006), Candace Parker (2004) and Ivory Latta (2003), among others. Atkins takes home the honor over finalists: Kelsey Mitchell (Princeton High School  – Cincinnati, Ohio), Shakayla Thomas (Sylacauga High School  – Sylacauga, Ala.), Brianna Turner (Manvel High School  – Pearland, Texas), Jatarie White (Providence Day School  – Charlotte, N.C.), and A'Ja Wilson (Heathwood Hall Episcopal School – Hopkins, S.C.).

The Morgan Wootten Award is given annually to the best male and female McDonald's All American players who exemplify outstanding character, exhibit leadership and embody the values of being a student-athlete in the classroom and the community. McDonald's established the award in Wootten's honor to pay tribute to his unprecedented achievements as a teacher and coach. The official award presentation will take place at the McDonald's All American Games awards banquet on April 1 in Chicago, Ill.

As the top-ranked player in the 2014 class, Okafor has achieved success throughout his high school career on and off the floor. On the court, Okafor just led his team to a class 4A state championship and earned three gold medals participating with Team USA. Since his sophomore season, Okafor has earned all-city, all-state and all-American honors from multiple media outlets and organizations. Off the court, Okafor volunteers at a local Chicago church where he serves and cooks food for the elderly and homeless.

"I am truly honored and humbled to win this prestigious award. The Morgan Wooten Award represents integrity, sportsmanship and dedication – all traits that I try to exhibit on and off the court," said Okafor. "Winning this award shows that when you have a dream, and when you dedicate yourself to accomplishing that dream, anything is possible."

Like Okafor, Atkins is one of the top-rated players in the 2014 class. During her career she led her team to two Texas state championships and a 105 game win streak. This season she was named to the Naismith High School Player of the Year watch list and in 2013 was named Texas girls basketball player of the year by three different organizations. Off the court, Atkins volunteers as a youth basketball instructor, participates in an elementary school student-mentorship program and is a member of the National Honor Society and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Throughout her high school career, she's maintained a GPA above 3.5 and is scheduled to graduate in the top eight percent of her class.

"I am just so thankful to be named Morgan Wootten Player of the Year," said Atkins. "But I can't take the full credit, there are so many people who have helped me become the person and player I am today, and on behalf of them I say thank you."

The 2014 McDonald's All American Games will be played at Chicago's United Center on April 2. The Girls Game begins at 6:00 p.m. CT. The Boys Game will tip-off at 8:30 p.m. CT.  

Tickets to the 2014 McDonald's All American Games are available now through Ticketmaster or charge-by-phone at 1-866-909-GAME. Tickets start at $10 and include free parking. Net proceeds from the Games benefit Ronald McDonald House Charities (RMHC). The Games have raised more than $10 million for RMHC since 1978.

For more information about the McDonald's All American Games, POWERADE Jam Fest or Game Week activities in Chicago, please visit and follow us @McDAAG. Proud sponsors of the 2014 McDonald's All American Games include POWERADE®, Coca Cola®, adidas®, American Family Insurance, THE ROCK®, Wrigley's Orbit® gum, Fathead®, Lids® and Athletico Physical Therapy.

About Coach Morgan Wootten
During Wootten's 43-year career as head basketball coach at DeMatha High School in Hyattsville, Md., he earned a reputation for being an excellent basketball coach and mentor. In addition to his five national high school championship titles and 33 conference championships, Wootten had the unique distinction of having every DeMatha senior player receive a four-year college scholarship during his final 30 years of coaching. Now retired, Wootten was the first basketball coach, at any level, to reach 1,200 wins. He is the author of numerous books and is a famed basketball speaker and mentor. Coach Wootten has served as head of the selection committee for the McDonald's All American Games since its inception in 1977.

About McDonald's
McDonald's USA, LLC, serves a variety of menu options made with quality ingredients to more than 26 million customers every day. Approximately 90 percent of McDonald's 14,000 U.S. restaurants are owned and operated by independent businessmen and women. Since 2011, McDonald's Operators of Chicagoland and Northwest Indiana have hosted the McDonald's All American Games. Customers can now log online for free at approximately 11,500 participating Wi-Fi enabled McDonald's U.S. restaurants. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter and Facebook.    

About Ronald McDonald House Charities
Ronald McDonald House Charities (RMHC), an independent non-profit 501 (c) (3) corporation, creates, finds and supports programs that directly improve the health and well-being of children. Through its global network of local Chapters in 58 countries and regions, its three core programs, the Ronald McDonald House®, Ronald McDonald Family Room® and Ronald McDonald Care Mobile®, and millions of dollars in grants to support children's programs worldwide, RMHC provides stability and resources to families so they can get and keep their children healthy and happy. All RMHC-operated and supported programs provide access to quality health care and give children and families the time they need together to heal faster and cope better. For more information, visit, follow RMHC on Twitter (@RMHC), or like RMHC on Facebook ( Global).

All trademarks and/or registered marks are owned by their respective companies.

©2014 McDonalds

Brittany Rouse, GolinHarris

Kristen Wells, McDonald's

Photo -
Logo -

SOURCE McDonald's