Motor Press Guild Calls for Submissions for Automotive Industry's Most Prestigious Journalistic Awards

Aug 08, 2011, 11:53 ET from Motor Press Guild

LOS ANGELES, Aug. 8, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Motor Press Guild (MPG), the largest automotive media association in North America, announced today that nominations are open for the highest accolade in automotive journalism, The Dean Batchelor Award, as well as MPG Best of Year Awards across several categories. The awards are presented at the Motor Press Guild's Dean Batchelor Award gala in December.

This year marks the 16th anniversary of the award ceremony, designed to acknowledge the professional standards and excellence epitomized by the career of the late automotive editor and writer Dean Batchelor.

"The Dean Batchelor Award is truly one of the greatest honors a member of the automotive press can receive," said Laura Burstein, Motor Press Guild President. "This year, we are especially encouraging submissions from new, fresh talent across all forms of media."

Prior to choosing the Dean Batchelor Award winner, a panel of judges selects Best of the Year winners in multiple categories including book, article, audio/video and photography. The Dean Batchelor Award winner is chosen from the Best of the Year recipients. While the award is open to any journalistic work in the automotive field, nominations must come from a current Motor Press Guild member.

The deadline for book nominations is Sept. 1, 2011. For all other categories, the deadline is Sept. 15, 2011. For additional rules and submission guidelines, visit the Dean Batchelor Award section of the MPG website.


The Los Angeles-based Motor Press Guild (MPG) is the largest automotive media association in North America with more than 700 members. This non-profit trade guild is dedicated to promoting professionalism in automotive journalism through education and information exchange. Members include journalists from print, broadcast, and online outlets as well as public relations representatives, consumer groups and governmental bodies tied to the automotive industry. The organization hosts regular meetings featuring key figureheads in the auto industry and is widely recognized for its annual Dean Batchelor Award program and annual industry MPG Track Day.

For more information on the Motor Press Guild, please visit our website (, Facebook page or Twitter feed (@MotorPressGuild). For media inquiries please contact MPG Publicity Chair Mike Caudill at 951-719-1040 or

SOURCE Motor Press Guild