Pennsylvania Community College Students Recognized by National Honor Society for Academic, Civil Achievements

Apr 02, 2012, 14:00 ET from Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges

HARRISBURG, Pa., April 2, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Pennsylvania's 14 community colleges together with Phi Theta Kappa, the national two-year college honor society, will name 47 community college students from across the commonwealth to the 2012 All-Pennsylvania Academic Team. 

The students, representing each community college in the state, will be honored this evening for their academic achievements in the classroom and for their volunteerism in their communities. In order to be named to the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team, students must maintain a 3.5 GPA or higher.

"The students being recognized today represent the diversity of community colleges," said Diane Bosak, executive director of the Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges, the nonprofit entity that represents the legislative interests of the state's 14 community colleges.  "Many of the students being honored are balancing their school work with family responsibilities and jobs but still find time to volunteer and make their communities a better place.  This recognition is a testament to these students' commitment to their communities and to their education."

She added that the majority of students honored will pursue a baccalaureate degree at Pennsylvania colleges and universities.

The All-Pennsylvania Academic Team awards program, building from the National All-USA Academic Team for two-year colleges, recognizes an exceptional group of community college students who have achieved academic excellence and demonstrated a commitment to their colleges and communities.  For 18 years, The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges has joined Phi Theta Kappa to honor students who have been nominated by their colleges to the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team.

Pennsylvania's 14 community colleges serve students from every county of the state.  The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges is a volunteer membership association for Pennsylvania's community colleges. Its members include the college presidents, members of colleges' boards of trustees and key college administrators.  The Commission represents the interests and advocates the collective needs of the community colleges to federal and state policymakers.  For more information please visit

Media Contact
Jamie Yates, Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges

Editor's Note:

Members of the 2012 All-Pennsylvania Academic Team (listed alphabetically by college).  Additional information is available for each student by request.

Community College of Allegheny County

  • Aleta Bullock
  • Sara Lyn Geisler (Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar)
  • Erik Graybill (Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar)
  • Genesis Hammond-Schrock
  • Lisa Hildreth
  • Brian Smith
  • Marylu Smith (Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar)
  • Kirk Thoma

Community College of Beaver County

  • Marissa Galupi
  • Joseph Ligato

Bucks County Community College

  • Timothy Burkhardt (Coca-Cola Gold Scholar)
  • Mikaela Collich
  • Fizza Hasani
  • Kathryn Webster

Butler County Community College

  • April Beaman
  • Joy Dillon

Delaware County Community College

  • Lynda Lichti
  • Nichole Philipp (2012 New Century Scholar)

Harrisburg Area Community College

  • Rebekka Fields
  • Brianna Garber
  • Melinda Hitz
  • Melissa Hodge
  • Veronica Hull
  • Amelia Rundle
  • Michael Shoemaker
  • Bryell StClair
  • Nicole Trusky

Lehigh Carbon Community College

  • Andrew Kaiser
  • Heather Schuetrum

Luzerne County Community College

  • Emily Lynch
  • Katie Smith

Montgomery County Community College

  • Christine Chiodo (Coca-Cola Silver Scholar)
  • Brian Gallie
  • Sarah Munson
  • John Roddenberry

Northampton Community College

  • Latoya Brown (Coca-Cola Gold Scholar)
  • Mostafa Elkohil
  • Jose Ortiz
  • Angela Ucciferri

Pennsylvania Highlands Community College

  • Stuart Custer
  • Dorothy Wyatt

Community College of Philadelphia

  • Adam Foizen
  • Christopher Thomas

Reading Area Community College

  • Christina Buehler (Coca-Cola Silver Scholar)
  • Patricia Chase Sturz

Westmoreland County Community College

  • Hannah Tomajko
  • Janet Sarsfield

SOURCE Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges