Pennsylvania Community College Students Recognized by National Honor Society for Academic, Civil Achievements

Apr 08, 2013, 15:00 ET from Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges

HARRISBURG, Pa., April 8, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Pennsylvania's 14 community colleges together with Phi Theta Kappa, the national two-year college honor society, will name 45 community college students from across the commonwealth to the 2013 All-Pennsylvania Academic Team. 

The students, representing each community college in the state, will be honored this evening for their academic achievements in the classroom and for their volunteerism in their communities. In order to be named to the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team, students must maintain a 3.5 GPA or higher.

"The students being recognized today represent the diversity of community colleges," said Diane Bosak, executive director of the Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges, the nonprofit entity that represents the legislative interests of the state's 14 community colleges.  "Many of the students being recognized are balancing their school work with family responsibilities and jobs but still find time to volunteer and make their communities a better place.  This recognition is a testament to these students' commitment to their communities and to their education."

She added that the majority of students being honored this evening will pursue a baccalaureate degree at Pennsylvania colleges and universities.

The All-Pennsylvania Academic Team awards program, building from the National All-USA Academic Team for two-year colleges, recognizes an exceptional group of community college students who have achieved academic excellence and demonstrated a commitment to their colleges and communities.  For 19 years, The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges has joined Phi Theta Kappa to honor students who have been nominated by their colleges to the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team.

For 50 years, Pennsylvania's 14 community colleges have provided an affordable and accessible higher education choice for all Pennsylvanians.  The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges is a volunteer membership association for Pennsylvania's community colleges. Its members include the college presidents, members of colleges' boards of trustees and key college administrators.  The Commission represents the interests and advocates the collective needs of the community colleges to federal and state policymakers.  For more information please visit

Media Contact
Jamie Yates, Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges

Editor's Note:

Below are the members of the 2013 All-Pennsylvania Academic Team (listed alphabetically by college).  Additional information is available for each student by request.

Community College of Allegheny County

  • Kevin Boglitz (2013 Bronze Coca-Cola Scholar)
  • Alex Brown
  • Ashley Crisi
  • Crystal Hinnebusch
  • William Moran Jr.
  • Rebecca Stevens
  • Yiyi Zhao (2013 Bronze Coca-Cola Scholar)

Community College of Beaver County

  • Brittnay Mayhue
  • Kimberly Zalewski

Bucks County Community College

  • Brian Engstrom
  • Kendall Mosser
  • Jonathan Webster (2013 New Century Scholar)

Butler County Community College

  • Brittany Foertsch
  • Megan Scott

Delaware County Community College

  • Jordyn Bennett
  • Denise Logsdon
  • Dimitri Wevers

Harrisburg Area Community College

  • Equilla Burns
  • Adam Fitzgerald
  • Christine Harrison-Mahrer
  • Katie Lippy
  • Shannon Love
  • Teresa Rennecker
  • Caleb Roth
  • Allison Stark

Lehigh Carbon Community College

  • Garrett Scott
  • Kimberly Troup (2013 Gold Coca-Cola Scholar)

Luzerne County Community College

  • David Fox
  • Leah Kowalski

Montgomery County Community College

  • Nicole Holland
  • Jessica Lowenstein
  • Shanea Roberts
  • Jessica Stewart

Northampton Community College

  • Stacy Beaty
  • Kristin Cook
  • Qi Dong
  • John Shin

Pennsylvania Highlands Community College

  • Edward Rosbaugh
  • Alexander Wise

Community College of Philadelphia

  • Megan Kenney
  • Dillon Maloney

Reading Area Community College

  • Elise Chesson
  • Christopher King (2013 Silver Coca-Cola Scholar)

Westmoreland County Community College

  • Brittany Carr
  • Toni Josebeck

SOURCE Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges