Public Relations Society of America Announces 2011 Board

Dec 16, 2010, 13:29 ET from PRSA San Diego/Imperial Counties

SAN DIEGO, Dec. 16, 2010 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), San Diego/Imperial Counties Chapter today announced the installation of its 2011 board of directors.


"PRSA connects local public relations professionals and provides them with career-boosting resources and best practices," said April Bolduc, communications manager for San Diego Gas & Electric and PRSA president. "This year's board will continue to our momentum to elevate the professionalism of public relations in our ever-changing industry and provide our members information on keeping ahead of new trends that give their companies a competitive edge."

The board elected an executive committee to lead the chapter's 260 members, and they are President Bolduc, President-Elect Anne Stephany of Loews Hotels, Treasurer Tricia Whittemore of Porter Novelli, Secretary Erin Coller of Formula PR and Immediate Past-President Sara Wacker of c3 Communications, Inc. Each member of the executive team serves one-year terms. Also, the board elected two new directors and 10 continuing directors, who serve three-year terms.

For more information about the chapter, volunteer opportunities and the board of directors, please visit To join, visit PRSA's national membership website.

2011 PRSA Board of Directors

Executive Committee

President: April Bolduc Communications Manager, San Diego Gas & Electric

President-Elect: Anne Stephany Director of Public Relations, California, Loews Hotels

Immediate Past-President: Sara Wacker, APR Vice President, c3 Communications, Inc.

Secretary: Erin Coller Senior Account Executive, Formula PR

Treasurer: Tricia Whittemore Account Supervisor, Porter Novelli

New Directors

Erica Holloway Sole Practitioner, Media Strategies

Sandy Young Account Executive, J. Walcher Communications

Directors Continuing

Kim Edwards Public Information Officer, UCSD Health Sciences

Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, APR President, Falcon Valley Group

Dan Flores Director of Public Relations and Communications, Art Institute of CaliforniaSan Diego

Bill Gay, APR Director of Media and Community Relations, Imperial Valley College

Reema Makani Public Relations Specialist, San Diego Medical Services

Blake Nelson, APR Manager of Public Affairs, Southwest Strategies

Mary Schmidt-Krebs, APR Owner, MESA Integrated Marketing, Inc.

Carrie Shields Director of Public Relations, Bailey Gardiner

Julie Smith-Taylor, APR Owner, Taylor PR, Inc.

Kristie Spalding, APR Dept. Supervisor, Marketing and Community Relations, YMCA of San Diego County

Ethics Chair Marisa Vallbona, APR, Fellow PRSA President, CIM Incorporated

Chapter Manager Rene Carmichael

PRSA is a 501(c)6 non-profit association that provides professional development opportunities, a job board, newsletter, public service and annual awards programs, a new professionals group, networking events, accreditation in public relations, and acts as liaison to the student chapter at San Diego State University. PRSA serves those in the fields of public relations, marketing communications, corporate relations, public affairs, community relations and related fields. For more information or to become a member, please visit  

Contact: Erica Holloway

(619) 796-1651

SOURCE PRSA San Diego/Imperial Counties